We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Mistake” 2 of 5 stars
Review of May Cottage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added May Cottage to your Saves list
May Cottage
Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW , England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sail n Sleep
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New South Wales
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Big Mistake”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We found the host to be somewhat odd and actually insulting. ( when my partner lifted our suitcase to take upstairs she commented that he was strong for a hefty person!) We had the attic room which was incredibly small- had to turn sideways to get out of bed. The ensuite was split - toilet under eave and shower behind door. Breakfast was only available in a 1/2 hour time slot- we asked to pay the night before as we wished to leave early- no offer of earlier breakfast. We were asked to remove our shoes at the front door and then had to climb two incredibly narrow flights of stairs in stocking feet. Good we carry our own face cloths. The best part was we only stayed one night.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    15
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
126
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I have not stayed in the centre of Bowness before but after reading all the great reviews I decided to book an overnight stay for myself & my Mum. As my Mum suffers from arthritis in her knees, and finds it very hard to walk long distances, May Cottage was perfect as the centre of Bowness is just down the road, about 5 mins at a slow pace!
We stayed in room 2 which is a lovely room with a superb bathroom with a great shower. Wherever I stay, I know it sounds sad, but I always take my pillow to ensure a good nights sleep. My pillow was not needed at May Cottage because the pillows are amazing so thank you Sue for a fab nights sleep.
The weather for the 2 days was on & off rain but Sue gave us some great ideas of things to do.
Also thanks again Sue for reversing Mum's car up the driveway & for a lovely stay xx

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We were very impressed with this B&B. Sue was a great host and really helped us in getting around the Lake District. She is very personable and interactive with her customers at breakfast. The B&B is in a quiet location right next to a very expensive hotel with easy access to both the lake and town centre. The room was very well laid out, clean, and the bathroom was newly remodeled not to mention the largest we have experienced in the UK. For the price you can't beat this B&B. Excellent rooms and hosts!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed for two nights in room three. It was quite an experience staying in room three as you could open the window above the bath/shower and breathe in the fresh "lakes air" whilst watching the RAF fighter jets soaring overhead as well as admiring Lake Windermere. All this without your clothes on!!!! Sue and Len are perfect hosts in every way. Whilst in the UK we stayed in many different B&B's and hotels, but our favourite by a mile was room 3 in May Cottage.

Room Tip: Check out the view from room three.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in 'May Cottage' and in a lovely room that was tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean with plenty of light.First class food from lovely hosts that did the right things with great attention to detail.'May Cottage' is in easy access of the town and close enough for that evening stroll along side of Lake Windermere.Sue(the perfect host)had a wealth of knowledge about the area and places to visit.We are hoping to return later this year.Well done Sue you made our stay just perfect.

Room Tip: The room with the Kingsize bed is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stopped two nights at May Cottage and couldn't have been happier. The room was big and bright with a comfortable bed. The bathroom was very smart with a large walk-in shower. The walk into town only took two minutes (even after going up Scafell Pike!) and was relatively flat with a footpath all the way.
Sue and Len were fantastic hosts, even when I forgot to pay the bill (cringe!!!!). Len cooks a great breakfast, thick bacon with all the fat trimmed off and not a trace of grease. Sue kept us abreast of local events and attractions at breakfast time without being intrusive.
I would confidently recommend this b&b to anybody who wanted to stay in Bowness.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Very nice bed and breakfast. The cottage was clean and tidy and well located for shops, pubs and restaurants. It was located near a road but we didn't hear any traffic and it was lovely and quiet.

The car park was the back garden and was small but there was enough space for each room that had a car. However, there wasn't much room to turn your car around and you have to reverse out. If you are not careful, you could hit the side of the cottage and scrape your car. We were grateful for the car park especially since there are many b&bs that didn't have a car park.

The bedroom was bright and airy. The bathroom was large, well decorated, and plenty of hot water. The towels were large, white and very clean.

The bed comfort was ok. It was a little hard for me but I prefer quite a soft bed. My husband thought it was fine so I think it is really preference on the type of bed you like.

The breakfasts were nice and they made it to order. The toast was great: it was nice and thick and didn't seem to be the usual bionic bread that you are often served in hotels.

Overall, it was a pleasant stay at May Cottage.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to May Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about May Cottage

Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to enjoy your Lake break with us in a super location close to Lake Windermere and village life. From a super location, our family home offers quality Bed & Breakfast, with three ensuite rooms & one Budget ensuite room. (- We do not provide the standards and services of a Guest House or Hotel.) Direct contact ensures the best tariffs, as our many returning guests know! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your May Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
May Cottage Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage May Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.