We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bodega Tapas Bar

Bodega Tapas Bar
Ash Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EB, England
+44 1539 446 825
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Wigan, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Average!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

First night of our holiday, very hungry, we spotted tapas ! We love the concept of sharing several dishes over a drink or two and have had superb tapas in the past. However ! This was such a let down, we arrived in the restaurant to be shown to a table, very nice view outside. Then we were waiting for the waiter to give us the menu, we eventually had to ask for it 15 minuetes later as he had forgotten. The food was acceptable but nothing special, the service was not good. Needless to say we wont return. Better places to eat.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    187
    49
    19
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely cocktails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Visited Bowness for the weekend and on both nights we came to Bodega. Excellent cocktails and lovely atmosphere. Weather was beautiful so had a lovely summer feel to the evening - pity we didn't get there a bit earlier to sit outside.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Just ok 6/10”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Had a meal here before in 2013 and food was wonderful but on our last visit it was not so, ordered 4 dishes each Spanish omelette very bland potato bravas sauce was way to hot and only eat the one with no sauce on them,I ordered a house salad which again very bland with no dressing, tempura prawns with lovely and my husbands meal he said was ok, we asked for more drinks with the gentleman waiter forgot to order and we where not ask if we wanted desserts, we asked the female waitress for deserts and she was very helpful and recommended one to us, very pleasant. Would I eat here again....not to sure.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best Tapas ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

A must visit place - delicious food and such a fab Spanish atmosphere. Lovely cocktails too. I recommend choosing your own tapas 6 dishes between is perfect. The potato Bravas and Monk fish were amongst our favourite dishes .. Enjoy

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“APPALLING!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

After reading excellent reviews and hearing about how other diners had enjoyed Bodega, my partner and I decided to visit last week. The website states that food is served until 10pm, but when we arrived at just before 9.30pm, the waitress politely asked us if we could make a quick decision as to our menu choices as the kitchen was due to close, we ordered within 5 minutes - the set menu for two with meats. When ordering drinks, I asked if a cask ale was available, but the waitress said they did not serve cask ales even though Bodega is recommended on a real ales website, therefore we ordered a bottle of red and a bottle of white wine. The food arrived promptly and was of an average standard, however, when we came to eat the pork skewers they were cold - barley at room temperature! It was not as if they had been heated to temperature in accordance with the Food Safety Regulations, and we had let them go cold, it was as if they had not been heated properly in the first place! I brought this to the attention of the waiter and he removed the cost of the pork from our bill and apologised, which was accepted (mistakes happen). But then the waiter visited the table twice within a 5 minute period to ask if we were ready to pay, much to our irritation. When we had payed our bill, he promptly removed all items from our table, including candle and asked us to finish our drinks downstairs, he appeared to stop short of physically ejecting us! We were shocked at the service we had received and the quality of the food. The experience spoilt our stay in Bowness and if we do decide to visit again, we will certainly not be visiting Bodega!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bodega Tapas Bar also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Bodega Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bodega Tapas Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.