We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Delicious Delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jackson's Bistro

Jackson's Bistro
West End, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EE, England
015394 46264
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Delicious Delicious Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

This was by far the best meal out we have had in a long time. We had the 3 course set menu at £16.95 updated by £3 to include rump steak. We had the stuffed mushrooms & cajun chicken pancake to start. Excellent rump steaks for mains cooked to our perfection and then a honeycomb & caramel cheesecake for sweet. 2 large glasses of white wine & 2 pints of peroni...the meal was an absolute delight....bill was £60.04....every course was superb and the staff were pleasant & attentative....will be our 1st choice when in Bowness next. We were seated downstairs and the atmosphere was very good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    505
    167
    52
    37
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Booking vital”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Ate here last night, by 19:30 the restaurant was full so glad we had booked a table. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was superb, and only slightly more expensive than expected.
The only downside is the front is all glazed so you feel to be eating in a gold fish bowl, but I suppose that a full restaurant is good and free advertising. Would definitely return

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

The food was okay as was the service but yet again we found the prices over the top for the food and service we received. The ambience was not great and it was not very warm

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Fabulous Meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

We have just had the set 3 course dinner and it was one of the best meals we have had on this trip to the UK. The stuffed mushrooms were piping hot and smothered in a delicious cheese sauce, I then had the 'chicken bolognese'..a delicious chicken breast with Bolognese sauce and served with beautifully cooked vegetables. My husband had the duck leg which was so tender it fell off the bone...all followed by cheesecake or chocolate brownie with cream!! Every dish was beautifully cooked, served with professional care and in a pleasant and friendly manner. We can recommend this restaurant if you are in Bowness on Windermere....all at a very reasonable price for such quality food.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“One night break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We have been three times to the bistro,we stopped in Bowness for the night.
We were only a few doors away,so Jackson's was ideal....we went for the two course meal...I had the steak,cooked perfectly,hubby had the chicken,both very nice...dessert we had the brûlée with banana and toffee sauce...lovely.once again a lovely meal

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jackson's Bistro also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Jackson's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jackson's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.