We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Court House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Old Court House to your Saves list
The Old Court House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3AP, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“simply the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

we stayed here 30/11/13 -02/12/13. it was a short weekend break to celebrate my birthday. the room was spotlessly clean and spacious with a lovely comfortable bed. we have stayed in the lakes before,and found some rooms to be on the small side, but not here, the breakfast were very good, sue the host was very friendly& informative,there was plenty of eating places nearby. we ,will most certainly be visiting again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    15
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
37
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Place is clean!cosy bedroom and warm nice comfy beds breakfast good lady nice that runs it good position for shops and restaurants quiet at night wen in bed so all in all it was good ! Oh would book there again

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Room was first floor and was very spacious. It was immaculate and clean. It had a really nice homely feeling and was great to return to after a long walk (in the rain!).

Bed was big and comfy.

The location was quiet and very useful to access Lake Windermere. A very short walk to the lake front and a few steps away from restaurants/shops.

Helpful and good host!

Breakfast was very nice (particularly the scrambled eggs!)

The car park was tight but useful to have free off road (enclosed) parking for the length of the stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Upon arrival we were greated by Sue, was very welcoming and friendly. She showed us to our room and gave us tne usual tour and information.

The rooms have character and were adequately furnished and very clean. The wardrobe actually had enough hangers too! The bathroom was equipped with a great shower, heated towel rail and plenty of clean towels. The bed was very comfortable although it did creak a little! Our room had two windows, one of which was double glazed and I was concerned that it would be noisy or cold, I need not have worried - the heating was great and nights were very quiet and peaceful. There is also a drying room for walkers to dry coats, boots etc.


Breakfast was fantastic (full english) with a help yourself buffet of cerials, yogurt etc. Staff were also very accommodating with breakfast, taking orders for things like sausage sandwhiches which were not on the breakfast menu. Coffee was served in an individual cafetiere.

The location is great, although it is very close to a Jewson builders yard. Thiz does not cause any problems even with noise so don't let that put you off. The hotel is just a short 5 mins walk from the lake and is centralto most shops, restaurants and bars. The Italian restaurant, 'Ristoranti' does fantastic food and I would recommend it - book your table, though, it gets very busy.

The only downside is that car parking can be a little difficult. The hotel has its own car park but it is very small and not easy to get into, or out of some of the spaces. Parking on the quiet side road outside the hotel is okay but be aware that there are restrictions 9am to 6pm.

all in all though, a great place to stay and one which represents great value for money. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We booked into this accommodation because of the sense of history of the place. Unfortunately, I had my hopes up too high. I was expecting a much stronger sense of history from the place but the only reference to its history was at the door with a few sentences indicating the building's past. I was disappointed. I wouldn't blame the owners alone in marketing the building's history (because it is true). I was at fault too for expecting more.

To be fair, we enjoyed our stay at the Lake District. This accommodation was adequate. It was difficult to find at first until we mentioned the cinema, then got directed quickly to the right place. The location of the place is quite good. Noise was at a minimal till after 7pm when it became almost non existent. It was near to food outlets and retail shops and Lake Windermere was just a little way down the slope. If you find this slope tiring, you shouldn't be coming to the Lake District at all.

The room was adequate with heating coming on in the cold evening. The hotel does not provide much toiletries, just an all-in shampoo and shower gel and towels. The bed was comfy enough. It is an old building so the floorboards creak when you walk over them. We were the only ones those 2 nights so this was not problem for us.

Breakfast was ok and substantial. Parking was a little tight but as we were the only ones, that also was not a problem for us. Worth staying for its location in Bowness but don't rest too much hope on the sense of history.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Just home after a mid week stay. Cant fault anything. Clean and comfy. Most welcoming. Breakfast was really nice Definitely stay again perfect base for exploring by boat and bus we left car and could properly let our hair down and not worry if we wanted a glass of wine.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Just returned home after a few days away at this great little B&B. Clean cosy and very welcoming. Fabulous cooked breakfasts and nothing was too much bother for Sue and the staff.
Would recommend to anyone. In a great location for all the local shops etc. Would ring Sue first if we ever visit the Lakes again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Court House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Court House

Address: Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3AP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Court House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Old Court House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Court House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Court House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.