We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely b&b, ideal location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Court House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Old Court House to your Saves list
The Old Court House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3AP, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Autumn Offers
Barnsley
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely b&b, ideal location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from staying at The Old Court House for one night over the weekend. We got a bit lost finding the guesthouse but once we knew where we were going it was easy to find, right at the side of the cinema on the Main Street through Bowness. The guesthouse is ideally located right in the centre of the town with bars, restaurants, pubs, cafes and shops all right outside. The lake is only a 2 minute walk away down the hill. We received a warm welcome upon arrival, despite not turning up until gone 7pm. We were taken straight to our room which was clean, amply sized and nicely decorated. The shower room was only small with just a shower cubicle and toilet, the wash basin was within the vanity unit in the room, but for just a one or two night stay it was fine. Tea, coffee and hot chocolate making facilities were available in the room, along with biscuits and chocolates. The beds were very comfy, the duvet could have been a bit bigger, but maybe that was just us being greedy! Breakfast the following morning was excellent, just what we needed. A full English breakfast with toast was cooked perfectly. Cereals, fruit juice and fresh fruit were also available along with preserves for your toast. We would also like to say thank you for allowing us use of the car park for the day, this was really useful to allow us to go exploring. Next time we return to the lakes we will defiantly look to stay here again, it made for a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    15
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
37
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Been here on a number of occasions and always enjoyed it. We were given a choice of rooms all of which were clean tidy and quite modern. Choice of cooked breakfast or cereal toast and fresh fruit salad. Yoghurts also available, as is fresh orange juice.
Good value for money, and an attentive but not intrusive host in Alison.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed two nights in a ground floor room and had a great weekend. The room was clean and functional and the bathroom modern.

The room was a little noisy at times during the day due to thin walls/ceilings and the pavement right past the window. After dark it settled down and we had a great nights sleep. The bathroom was compact and in need of some attention, with an incredibly noisy extractor fan, loose taps on the sink and a shower cubicle so small I couldn't get my hands to my head to wash my hair without opening the door. These are frankly niggles though and wouldn't prevent me from staying again.

Breakfast was superb, the staff very friendly, and the location brilliant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Had a very enjoyable weekend here, room was very nice and clean, the breakfast was very good especially the fresh fruit salad, would certainly stay here again as the location is just right for all the attractions in bowness.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

After having difficulty finding the old court house. (sat nav) directions incorrect. We were very well received and shown to our ground floor room which though very small was spotlessly clean with a good bed. Breakfast was exactly what we asked for and the owner and staff were helpful and able to give good info on the area. The car ark was very cramped but ok. The B&B is situated at the top of the hill from the Promenade. It is very pleasant walk down but a long way home.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunstable
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

just got back.stayed three nights.lovely room with a nice bathroom/shower.
the breakfast was lovely with good home cooked food.
very good location in the village.
Alison and her family were so friendly.
hope to go again.

all round good value for money.

Room Tip: room six is a nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

We spent a weekend here for a birthday break, it has a great
location near shops, restaurants and most importantly the lake. We would recommend the old courthouse and have no negative comments ;)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Court House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Court House

Address: Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3AP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Court House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Court House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Court House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Court House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.