We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noel says he had a Fantastic Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Court House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Old Court House to your Saves list
The Old Court House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3AP, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
£70 (GBP)
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Noel says he had a Fantastic Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

Had a very pleasant stay in the Old Courthouse. The location is ideal for visting the lake district as it is near two towns and lots of restaurants and shops.

The service was good, especially during breakfast.

Would certainly recommend to others and would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    19
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
43
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

A nice quiet B&B situated in a lovely little village. The room was spacious, clean and warm and the bed was comfy. The bathroom compact but perfectly adequate. Breakfast was delicious. A very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

All pretty average really. The sort of room that's filled with orange pine furniture, poly-cotton apricot sheets and matchy orange toned curtains and pillows etc. Breakfast was pleasant enough. Good choice of cereals, great fresh fruit, yoghurt and concentrate orange juice. Cooked breakfast was OK, nothing too special. Bit too much skin exposed by the staff serving breakfast (must I have armpit and navel with my eggs?). Location is great as others have said, but the 'averageness' of the whole experience will keep me from staying again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights and had a great time. The Old Courthouse is well positioned at the top of the highstreet right in the action with a cinema directly next door and a couple of good restaurants opposite (Chinese esp good and a good Italian). It has free parking for approx 4 cars which I think was good in that parking so near to the highstreet seems to be limited and requires a (free?) permit. We did the lakes by day and watched films at the cinema and eat out by night.

The cooked English breakfast was simple but delicious with fresh coffee, cereals and juice also available.

The rooms we stayed in had plenty of room, modern digital TV with cable and a small bathroom area with shower and toilet. The decor/fittings weren't particularly modern or fancy but were fine for us. The room also had free wifi which we used with no problems.

Overall I would recommend it as a good place to base yourself to visit the Lakes. Our favourite location being Wast Water.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missvicx
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

After a last minute change of plans then a change of plans again, we called around Bowness at 2pm on New Years Eve looking for a place to stay.
Like Mary and Joseph, our options were limited, which initially led me to worry about what to expect... however from our arrival our fears were laid to rest.
Our hostess certainly had the mostess, welcoming us at the door and made to feel welcome instantly and shown around all the facilities of the lovely Old Courthouse.
Our room was well decorated, very comfy and best of all, really warm in the cold weather (thanks!). The tea and coffee tray ranneth over, which was totally a bonus for us and the shower was geet warm too! I was pleased with the wireless access too, although not as fast as at home, it kept us in the loop. Fab!
The room and whole house was so very clean and tidy. Suffering from allergies so severe that I once had an anaphalactic shock in a Holiday Inn, I can often fall foul of a dusty or dog-ridden hotel, this was neither, which is rare! Great stuff!
Breakfast was totally cracking, served by a pleasant young chap, who at one point called me 'madam'... me? Wow!
The Courthouse is so close to the centre of the town, just a 2 minute potter from the main shopping area, even for a couple of shorties. It's right next to the cinema, for those of you that know the town and really close to all the pubs and restaurants, in fact, nearer than the nearest car park. Excellent!
Other than all these great things, really we just liked the overall feel of the place and some of the little things made it nice: the host who knew our names on arrival and remembered our phone conversation, the traditional decor, best selection of mini-jams with breakfast, a great array of books to peruse, the fab tea and coffee tray!
Having stayed in Bowness on dozens of occasions over the years, I am usually left satisfied with the accomodation, this place, however, just seemed to tick all the boxes to make us leave content with our choice, and certain that we will stay again on our next visit!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heswall, Wirral, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

Thanks Alison for another fantastic weekend.
Cannot recommend The Old Court House enough. Have been coming here with my wife 2 to 3 times a year for the past 5 years and just love everything about it.
The rooms are always spotless and with en suites, TV, tea and coffee making facilities and a lovely comfy bed, you could'nt ask for more. As it only has 6 rooms it has a really cosy feel about it.
Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day and the cooked breakfasts are always something we look forward to on our stay, as well as the cereals and juices. You really can 'Fill Your Boots'.
We love coming here and Alison always makes us feel really welcome and has been so helpful to us over the years telling us of some great places to eat, drink and walk. What more could you possibly want?
It is in such a great location next to the cinema on Lake Road and is surrounded by all the shops and restaurants of Bowness. Once we park our car in the car park it rarely moves. Everything is within walking distance and there is a bus stop right outside. Just a ten minute stroll and you're by the shore of Lake Windermere where you can catch a boat to Lakeside or Ambleside. Or venture over the opposite side of the lake by the cable ferry and take a stroll to Far Sawery. The home of Beatrix Potter.
Even while on our honeymoon in Switzerland we decided that we should book a long weekend at the Old Court House to finish off our holiday so we phoned all the way from Zermatt and a week later no sooner had we landed we had un packed and re packed and drove straight up to The Lakes.
My wife and I do quite alot of travelling but we are never made to feel as welcome as we are at The Old Court House.
Can't believe we've been coming here now for 5 years. Here's to the next 5.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heswall, Wirral, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

Thanks Alison for another fantastic weekend. Cannot recommend The Old Courthouse enough. Have been coming here with my wife 2 to 3 times a year for the past 5 years and just love everything about it.
The rooms are always spotless and with en suites, T.V, tea and coffee making facilities and a lovely comfy bed, you could'nt ask for more. As it only has 6 rooms it has a really cosy feel about it. Breakfast is my favourite meal of the day and the cooked breakfasts are always something we look forward to on our stay as well as the cereals and fresh juices. You really can 'Fill Your Boots'.
We love coming here and Alison always makes us feel really welcome and has been so helpful to us over the years telling us of some great places to eat, drink and walk. What more could you possibly want.
It is in such a brilliant location next to the cinema on Lake Road and is surrounded by all the shops and restaurants of Bowness. Once we park our car in the car park it rarely moves. Everything is within walking distance and there is a bus stop right outside. Just a ten minute stroll and you're by the shore of Lake Windermere where you can catch a boat to Lakeside or Ambleside. Or venture over the opposite side of the the lake by the cable ferry and take a stroll to Far Sawery. The home of Beatrix Potter.
Even while on our honeymoon in Switzerland we decided that we should book a long weekend at the Old Courthouse to finish off our hoilday so we phoned all the way from Zermatt and a week later no sooner had we landed we had un packed and re packed and drove straight up to The Lakes.
My wife and I do quite a lot of travelling but we are never made to feel as welcome as we are at The Old Courthouse.
Can't believe we've been coming here now for 5 years. Here's to the next 5.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Court House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Court House

Address: Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3AP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Court House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Court House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Court House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Court House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.