We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Nice Atmosphere, Good Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fat Olives brasserie

Fat Olives brasserie
lake road | Bowness-On-Windermere, Bowness-on-Windermere la23 3bj, England
+44 15394 47447
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $13 - $31
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: A friendly English and Mediterranean brasserie style restaurant, open from 4pm serving freshly prepared, home cooked food. A varied menu offering light snacks, sharing plates, grills and regularly changing specials. Excellent childrens menu available. Also offering a Cinema and Meal deal in co-operation with the Royalty Cinema which is just across the road.
Northern California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Food, Nice Atmosphere, Good Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

All dishes we ate were fresh and good. Salads were tasty. Chips good. Coffee also good. Ate there twice. Prices fair for the area.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrill29, Owner at Fat Olives brasserie, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments, glad you enjoyed your meal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    181
    49
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good value ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

A warm and welcoming smile greets you by the staff on entering . The food choice and prices are good .
We ordered the three course set menu with wine the food was good and delivered in a relaxed atmosphere letting you have time in between each course . I would recommend a visit you won't be disappointed .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrill29, Owner at Fat Olives brasserie, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments, hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Most of the restaurant were full, we walked pass Fat Olives and decided to give it a try. Lucky to get a table in 5 mins. Didn't expect the food to be sooooo delicious!!! see the attached photos

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrill29, Owner at Fat Olives brasserie, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments, perhaps you will come to us first next time! Always nice to get customers pictures on the site, thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pathhead Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent value restaurant in Windermere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Four of us had a meal at Fat Olives brasserie during a recent visit to Windermere and really enjoyed it. We all had something different and all remarked how good our dishes were. Our table allowed us to see into the small kitchen where three guys were producing a continual stream of excellently presented food in what appeared to be a very relaxed kitchen. The various young staff that attended to our table were also excellent, friendly, helpful and pleasant. All in all a lovely restaurant experience which I could heartily recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrill29, Owner at Fat Olives brasserie, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, we are very proud of our team - its nice to be appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic, tasty, good staff and well priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

My new husband and I are on honeymoon in windermere and luckily found the fat olive for lunch on our first day. What a lovely restaurant! Clean, tidy, well spaced, delightful staff and fantastic food!

The prices are very reasonable, the portion sizes are spot on and so tasty. We were very surprised at the amount of dip and bread we got for just £1!

I had ribs, very meaty and no fat, lovely sauce and delicious side salad. My husband had spaghetti and meat balls, neither of us left any food :)

The girl who served us was new, but anything we asked that she didn't know she found out for us, very good service and we will definitely be going back before our honeymoon is over.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrill29, Owner at Fat Olives brasserie, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Thankyou very much for your kind comments, glad you liked your lunch at Fat Olives. I'm afraid you should have been charged separately for your bread so you really did get a bargain!
Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Olives brasserie also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Fat Olives brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fat Olives brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.