We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked it that much, we went twice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fat Olives brasserie

Fat Olives brasserie
lake road | Bowness-On-Windermere, Bowness-on-Windermere la23 3bj, England
+44 15394 47447
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $13 - $31
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: A friendly English and Mediterranean brasserie style restaurant, open from 4pm serving freshly prepared, home cooked food. A varied menu offering light snacks, sharing plates, grills and regularly changing specials. Excellent childrens menu available. Also offering a Cinema and Meal deal in co-operation with the Royalty Cinema which is just across the road.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Liked it that much, we went twice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Whilst staying in Bowness for the weekend, we called impromptu at Fat Olives for late lunch on Saturday. We had soup of the day (pea & ham) served with either ham or Lancashire cheese sandwich. Generous portions of very fresh & tasty food. This meal deal cost a little under £6 per person, excellent value.
After considering many alternative eateries for Sunday supper we returned to Fat Olives for the 2 or 3 course menu of the day. Good choice of 3 or 4 starters, mains and puddings. We ate early (6ish), within the hour this restaurant was getting nicely busy with people we though were repeat visitors.
Ok, the location is just a little stroll up hill (5mins Max) out of the village but well worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrill29, Owner at Fat Olives brasserie, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thankyou so much for your kind comments, at least it was downhill on the way home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    181
    49
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We had the 2 meal deal. We shared the entrees. I am unable to get potatoes and they willing just added green vegetables to my main at no extra charge

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrill29, Owner at Fat Olives brasserie, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Another excellent meal - great value & food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This was our fourth visit to Fat Olives, when we stay in Bowness we have dinner no where else!
As before the atmosphere is unassuming with attentive staff serving very tasty food, which is excellent value. On this visit I had Sea bass which was cooked to perfection as were the mussels, not only fish but a varied menu catering for all tastes including local meat. Don't hesitate visit this restaurant for an excellent meal at any time of day.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrill29, Owner at Fat Olives brasserie, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thankyou so much for your kind comments, we look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious Food & Cinema Ticket Included!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Absolutely lovely restaurant with tasty food. Definitely recommend the Chilli Beef Pasta! Great customer service as well as offering customers the option to combine their meal with a Royalty Cinema ticket of their choice at a reduced rate!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrill29, Owner at Fat Olives brasserie, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. The cinema deal at £13.50 for a one course pasta and salad meal or £19.50 both including your cinema ticket has been very popular with both visitors and locals, glad you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundee scotland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Another lovely meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband and I had the set price dinner menu which included a glass of wine each and were both very happy with our choices. Service was fine and we did not feel pressure to drink up and leave even though we were the last people in the restaurant by some way even though it was still early and the restaurant had been busy - we do like to talk and chill and take our time!

We look forward to eating here again when back on holiday next year and would recommend it without any hesitation to people looking for quality food at a reasonable price.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrill29, Owner at Fat Olives brasserie, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, we look forward to seeing you again too
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Olives brasserie also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Fat Olives brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fat Olives brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.