We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT SEAFOOD” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fat Olives brasserie

Fat Olives brasserie
lake road, Bowness-on-Windermere, England
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $2 - $29
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: A friendly English and Mediterranean brasserie style restaurant, open all day serving freshly prepared, home cooked food. A varied menu offering light snacks, sharing plates, grills and regularly changing specials. Excellent childrens menu available. Also offering a Cinema and Meal deal in co-operation with the Royalty Cinema which is just across the road.
Indore, India
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“GREAT SEAFOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I had Mussels and a Sea Food platter. The dishes wer sumptuous and delicious.
Did'nt have time the next day, but want to eat their again

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    246
    150
    40
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Nice starter shame about the main...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic starter but let down by a really poor main. £16.50 for a really skimpy bit of lamb that was 90% fat. Hard and lumpy mash.. Your chefs maybe stretched with it being Saturday night but that is no way to send out food in what is expected to be a fine dinning restraunt.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrill29, Owner at Fat Olives brasserie, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We are a little puzzled by this one as the dish you had was Lamb three ways. This is a char-grilled lamb cutlet, a piece of slow roasted lamb shoulder and a spicy lamb meatball. None of these are huge but obviously you have to look at the portion combined. Also can I say Fat Olives is not, has never been and has no aspirations to become a "fine dining" restaurant. The prices would be considerably higher and the portions considerably smaller if we were!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter Staffs
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good meal at a lovely local brasserie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband and l had a lovely evening meal at this local brasserie whilst recently staying in Bowness. The early evening fixed price menu offer is good value with a good choice of meals. My husband and l both chose different pasta dishes which were plentiful and tasted delicious. The staff were friendly and looked after customers well. Would certainly recommend as a good place to dine and we will be revisiting on our next visit to the Lakes.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Top notch nosh!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Good value great food. 3 course Prix Fixe menu for ��21 with wine was really good and no skimping on portion size. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent meal deal with cinema package”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were staying in Bowness and booked in for a the Cinema package. It was a reservation in the Bistro after the cinema (over the road) and there was a good selection on the fixed price menu. The staff were very friendly and able to assist with choosing gluten free options. Portions were generous and we felt it was good value for money.
The cinema was like stepping back in time! You forget how big the Multi screen cinemas are: some people probably have TV's at home nearly as big as this cinema screen, but it was fun and made for a good night out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Olives brasserie also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Fat Olives brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fat Olives brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.