We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable food, either dated or quaint interior, depending on your viewpoint” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sutherlands Restaurant

Sutherlands Restaurant
Rayrigg Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BZ, England
015394 43332
Improve this listing
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Reasonable food, either dated or quaint interior, depending on your viewpoint”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Ate here Tuesday evening. Not busy so service was ok and pleasant table near to the fire. I had the chicken on a bed of stir fried veg. It was ok but only carrots, spring onions and too much celery in the veg. Chunky chips lovely and mushroom sauce good. Wife had steak which she enjoyed and kids ok with burger and chicken breast burger. Not blown away with the food but a reasonable meal overall.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

50% Recommend
    61
    86
    47
    31
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Daventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Typical average pub grub in old fashioned setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We ventured into this pub to eat on our first night in Bowness because from the outside it looks like quite a stylish gastro pub type venue. We soon realised that looks are deceiving because as we were led into the eating area, we realised that we had just entered Fawlty Towers dining room circa 1975. But we didn't have the balls to get up and walk out so sat down and looked at the menu.

By this point we had to laugh as the set menu reinforced the stuck in the past image ever more. For example, one of the starters offered was a glass of orange juice! I ordered soup in the end, which to be fair was reasonable and my husband had garlic bread. We then followed this with Roast Lamb (me) and Scampi (him). We were expecting it to be the kind of place that served big portions but with cheap chunky veg and we were right. There was a lot of lamb so you do get value for money but the veg was a bit unappetising. My other half also complained about the beer choices, nothing decent on offer apparently.

On the plus side, the service was pretty good - however, there was only one other couple in there so the waitresses weren't exactly run off their feet.

This is the kind of place I imagine appealing to a coach load of pensioners wanting a cheap pub lunch on a day trip. Don't get tricked by the exterior into thinking it offers gourmet food or a romantic atmosphere. There are far better restaurants in Bowness if this is what you are after.

Disappointing but then we should have done our research on TA first!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burnley
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Cosy restaurant, good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Decided to try this restaurant after a look around Bowness. We were shown on arrival to a window table and served with drinks immediately. The menu choice including the specials was very good. I decided on the pâté and my husband the muscles. Both were nice, but my husband pointed out to the waitress that he had broken muscle shell in the sauce, which was a little disappointing as he said the sauce was one of the best he had tasted. We followed by having mushroom stroganoff and my husband, lamb Henry, both were large portions and beautiful. On the whole, would recommend a visit to this restaurant, good food, big portions and reasonably priced.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Average pub grub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is cheaper than many other places in the area, but sadly it shows quite obviously.
The building itself lloks very nice from outside, but inside the decor etc does look quite old and tired.
Service in the Lake District in general is often poor and this place typified this sadly. It was a busy evening when we went so we had to wait for a table along with a few other couples and families. When it came to our turn we were given a table for 4 when there were just 2 of us. We noticed there was a table for 2 being cleared at the same time and mentioned it might be better for the family that arrived just after us to have that table while we waited the 2 mins for the smaller one. This seemed to cause a great flurry of activity with us being made to feel like we were causing a problem for suggesting it.
The food was typical pub-type food but not as good as several other places we ate at during the weekend. Fine for a pub meal but I wouldn't recommended it for any special event or occassion. Service improved but in general it had a feel of pack people in and out as quick as possible.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

After many visits to this establishment i will not be returning.Although the food was ok the waitress ended up dropping a scalding glass of liqueur coffee all over my arm and leg resulting in me being whisked off to the kitchen to be covered in wet towels.Although the waitress did the right thing in terms of first aid we still had to pay for the meal minus drinks and rest of our evening was ruined.my parents had come to visit for just one evening which we had to cut short.Maybe the staff should bring out coffees on trays instead of trying to juggle too many cups!!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sutherlands Restaurant also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Sutherlands Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sutherlands Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.