We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Throughly disappointing-rip off!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Jintana Thai Restaurant, Bowness on Windermere

Jintana Thai Restaurant, Bowness on Windermere
Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BJ, England
015394 45002
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Newcastle
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Throughly disappointing-rip off!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

After reading all the good reviews about Jintana my boyfriend and I decided to try it out and left wondering if the good reviews were about the same restaurant we dined in!!! We have sampled Thai cuisine in other restaurants and throughly enjoyed it...However, in Jintana....
1.The waitress was rude and unfriendly.
2.The main meals had about 3 pieces of chicken in it and the sauce resembled and tasted like dirty dish water with a hint of spice!
3. The service was rushed-the banquet for two was served in 45 mins and the bill presented!!
4. The atmosphere was about as lively as solitary confinement!!
5. It was expensive for what it was and at no point were we asked if everything was ok or if we needed more drinks.

Overall, we were highly disappointed and suggest that anyone thinking of dining here-should think again!!!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    380
    155
    56
    24
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reading, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Little Gem of a Resturant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2009

Don't be fooled by exterior. Go up the stairs and its a nice cosey resturant. Great Thai Food. Authentic tom yum soup with seafood. Recommended.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“the worst thai i have ever tried”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

I can't believe that some people have rated this restaurant as the "best thai food ever. We must be very spoiled here in West Yorkshire as Jintana could not compete in the slightest. The food was very disappointing and bland. The signature desert had sweetcorn in it, which was disgusting! I would not recommend anyone to this restaurant even though the staff are friendly and offer a good standard of service. The food is just awful...

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jintanathai, Manager at Jintana Thai Restaurant, Bowness on Windermere, responded to this review, November 30, 2009
Dear Mattandnem, Thank you for your passionate review of your experience recently at Jintana Thai Restaurant. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your meal with us. At Jintana Thai Restaurant we always cook our food with the freshest of ingredients to ensure that each dish tastes it best and DO NOT use MonoSodiumGlutimate (MSG) unlike many other establishments. We are surprised that you found your food bland. One of our Desserts, Saku (not a signature dish) which is a Thai Sago Pudding, does traditionally contain sweetcorn, and whilst this may seem a strange idea to a western palette, is authentic, and actually very nice.
I am glad you found the friendly staff offered a good standard of service. Our staff always come to check at each table to see if you are enjoying your meal, and would have returned the dish to the kitchen if the flavour was not perfectly to your liking. Looking at your other review, it seems you did not have an enjoyable trip in the English Lakes. We hope that your next trip will be more pleasant and would be very happy if you would visit Jintana Thai Restaurant again. Jintana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester44
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC VALUE FANTASTIC FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

This restaurant was absolutely amazing and a completely unexpected find. The food was excellent being high quality and exceedingly authentic plus it was really good value too. The service was efficient and extremely courteous – the waitresses were so friendly and helpful . Generally I have found the food and service in Windermere restaurants to be very average however this restaurant has bucked the trend for me. I was so impressed I went back on consecutive nights!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“some of the best Thai food ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

A little gem in Bowness, this place is a fantastic to dine in after a long days walking around the lakes. Quality of food superb, being a Thai food fan, I can honestly say that this is some of the best I have ever tasted!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jintana Thai Restaurant, Bowness on Windermere also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Jintana Thai Restaurant, Bowness on Windermere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jintana Thai Restaurant, Bowness on Windermere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.