We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very yummy Thai!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jintana Thai Restaurant, Bowness on Windermere

Jintana Thai Restaurant, Bowness on Windermere
Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BJ, England
+44 15394 45002
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $13 - $24
Cuisines: Thai, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Jintana Thai Restaurant is nestled in the centre of Bowness-on-Windermere in the heart of the English Lake District. Open since 2004, the restaurant offers diners a relaxed, friendly environment in which to enjoy our freshly prepared authentic Thai Cuisine. Decorated with imported Thai furniture, artwork and artifacts, our dining area provides the perfect setting to enjoy our wide selection of meat, seafood and vegetarian dishes, each of which is freshly prepared to order by our team of experienced Thai chefs. Jintana Thai Restaurant is perfect for couples, and also for families and large parties, with its cosy and intimate surroundings everyone is welcome. As soon as you step inside, you are greeted with a warm welcome by our staff dressed in traditional Thai costumes.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very yummy Thai!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We ate here on our honeymoon and were impressed. Thai food is one of our favourites, and the restaurant lived up to our expectations. The Thai Pimms was very nice. We had a pad thai and a massaman curry which we enjoyed, although the portions were not as big as our favourite local Thai restaurant, and the food was not quite as mindblowingly good. The tom kha was excellent. The service was very good. They made a mistake with the order but were very apologetic about it. We'd definitely return if we are back in the area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    185
    61
    27
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Ate here 17/08/14 without booking a table and was seated straight away even tho it was very busy, drinks & food was served very quickly even tho it was it was busy, when the food arrived it was very well presented & tasted just as good, the waitresses were very attentive & smiley, Will definitely recommend to friends & family

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“good food, but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Like every other restaurant in the Lakes; expect to pay inflated tourist prices. However, we really enjoyed our set meal for 4. The dishes were fresh, tasty and portion sizes just about right. Service was good, and the little restaurant has a nice ambience. Very busy; we were lucky to get a table without pre booking on a thursday evening.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very authentic Thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Good service combined with authentic Thai decor, comfortable seating and licenced. Central and take-outs were quickly prepared.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Thai worth a Try !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We were in Bowness for a family weekend away , and managed to get a last minute booking on a saturday night. We had the shared starter between us which was quite tasty not the biggest portion I have had. I had the prawns red curry which was nice but not much spice or thai basil which I like in a thai curry, other half had the lamb with chilli and garlic, but not much lamb in the dish . Service good and decor nice , not the cheapest meal we have had but worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jintana Thai Restaurant, Bowness on Windermere also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Jintana Thai Restaurant, Bowness on Windermere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jintana Thai Restaurant, Bowness on Windermere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.