We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing fish and chips with lovely, friendly owners made for a delightful lunch.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seafarers

Seafarers
Rayrigg Rd, Bowness-on-Windermere, England
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Fish & Chips
Dining options: Takeout, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout, Late Night
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Amazing fish and chips with lovely, friendly owners made for a delightful lunch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Wow! We visited the lakes from Manchester for a couple of days. Whilst in Windermere we struggled to find a fish and chip shop, but luckily stumbled across this little gem on leaving (which was lucky as it is not signposted at all!). The fish was beautiful, with light, crispy, non-greasy batter, and everything was hot and freshly cooked (the owner explained that he only ever cooks to order, ensuring the highest quality every time!). Owned by the most friendly and welcoming man from the Philippines. I was truly impressed with how authentic and traditional the fish 'n chips are. The fact that the owners are not British really shouldn't deter anybody from trying the food, as it is cooked to perfection! Can't wait to return when we next visit the Lakes!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    14
    8
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Quick efficient and very friendly service - wonderful fish & chips - reasonably priced. Even though it was quite late when we visited the Chips and fish were freshly cooked. Definitely recommend a visit if in the area .

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Incredible batter!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

A very warm welcome from the husband and wife owners. The fish is freshly cooked fish to order with the most delicious and light batter too.

Great value, good portion size.

Will come again and again when in Bowness.

Better than the other fish and chip shop....helpful info :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blyth, northumberland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good little chippy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Visited with my fiancé and had a lovely portion of fish and chips. Not the best I've ever had but still good quality and a reasonable price. Staff are very friendly. Nice and clean and the option to sit inside or outside too. Definitely worth a go

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best fish and chips in Bowness-on-Windermere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Had a much better experiance of fish and chips here than when we tried the other fish and chip shop in Bowness-on-Windermere a few months ago. Seafarers gives various options of fish which the cooked fresh for us. The fish cake was the best fish cake I have had in a fish and chip shop. Will definitely be returning to here next time I visit Bowness-on-Windermere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seafarers also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Seafarers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seafarers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.