We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal and quaintly luxurious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added White Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
White Lodge Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Lacombe, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Personal and quaintly luxurious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

This Bed & Breakfast in Windermere is a great choice. The room was quaint and very clean. Vicky and Liz, the sisters that own and run the hotel are very personable and willing to help with Lake District info. The breakfast is lovely, a full English breakfast or any variation. We stayed in a family room for 4 nights and the whole experience at White Lodge exceeded our expectations. Well done! Bill, Judy and Kelsey from Canada.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The Lake District is an amazing place & we are very happy that your stay added to this experience. With our best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    32
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
21
50
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great place to enjoy the beautiful nature around. The rooms, dining room are renovated in English style with excellent taste. Hotel has its own free parking just next to the entrance door. The owners are very nice and helpful. Loved each minute I spent there. Great place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. So glad you enjoyed your stay at White Lodge and the Lake District. We are very fortunate to being able to live here. Best wishes & Au Revoir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the White Lodge hotel during the last weekend of June for two nights.
Checked in on the Friday at around 8 pm and was shown our room unfortunately didn't receive any wine we was hoping for which is stated on the website you receive if you book 2 nights like we did.

The hotel is location is excellent, far enough away to remain quiet but still in walking distance of the lake, the bed wasn't comfortable and struggled to get a good nights sleep, also we had a late night after going to the theatre in Keswick on the Saturday which is worth a visit for the drive alone never mind the beautiful settings around it, well we were awoken on the Sunday by staff standing outside of our door chatting rather loud at around 7 in the morning. All in all served it purpose of resting our heads but it wasnt good enough to recommend to friends.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry if you did not receive your wine mistakes do happen but
we would have given you a bottle with pleasure had we known. On the nights you stayed at White Lodge there was only one member of staff living in at the hotel & she would have come on duty at 8 am. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

just returned from three nights at the white lodge hotel, on arrival we were warmly greeted by one of the two ladies who run the hotel, shown our room (no 3 at back of hotel) the room was small but for our needs more than adequate the big plus was the new on suite lovely! . breakfast is taken in a very nice dining room where you will find fresh fruit and juices ,cereals and of course the full English breakfast, but if you want anything else the staff will oblige one lady asked for porridge followed by scrambled eggs no problem! on the whole the hotel is tidy, clean and warm. one tip if you are a light sleeper ask for a room at the back (very quiet) would we stay there again ? YES

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are always upgrading & so glad you enjoyed
the new ensuite with the sparkly blue flooring.Look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Unfortunately our experience wasn't as pleasant as previous travellers. Having booked a one night stay in the area, decided to stay another night, as the hotel we were in could not accommodate us as they were fully booked, we enquired at the white lodger, we were told they had a room for our second night but it was a small double, we provisionally booked this room, told to call following morning to view the room. Decided that evening to have room anyway call to reserve. The girl on reception took us up to see room, small but spotlessly clean told her we would definitely have room. Called following morning to ask if we could park car told no problem offered to pay for room told to pay later, room would be ready for us when we arrived back, we got to hotel just after 4.30 to be told the room had been given away. Just to a word of warning make sure the communication between staff is up to scratch.

Room Tip: Just make sure reservation is confirmed. In writing not just in book as our name was in book!!!
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
We were very sorry about this miscommunication. This particular room is small & only let as a single but it was the only one we had left & to help you we agreed to let it to you as the town was
very busy. Your review omitted the fact that I offered to find you accommodation at our sister hotel but you declined this offer. Once more sorry it was a complete misunderstanding. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Me and my friend Ross booked two single rooms at the White Lodge Hotel for two nights starting Friday 5th July. We were initially attracted by the location, right in Bowness near the lake, and the reasonable price.

Our expectations were of a half decent place we could drop our kit off while hiking and get a good nights sleep. To say we were very pleasantly surprised would be a massive understatement.

Both bedrooms were excellent - not too small, very comfortable and absolutely spotless. The bathrooms were bright and very clean, surprisingly they looked like new.

The breakfast was very good value - none of this kept under a lamp rubbish. Breakfast was made to order each morning with quality ingredients and perfectly cooked.

The service was great too - all the staff were friendly without being obtrusive and incredibly helpful when we needed to store our stuff after checking out. They also took an interest in where we were hiking, I guess in case we failed to return! :-)

I really liked this hotel. So much so I've booked back in for a weekend in August and they'll always be the first place I try to look for availability if I'm heading to Windermere.

You really can't go wrong.

Room Tip: The single rooms on the top floor are great. Ask for the one with the skylight in the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. My sister and I along with a small & dedicated team have been running White Lodge Hotel for some years. Look forward to seeing you again soon & Best wishes from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed two nights in July over a very hot weekend. Hotel is in a good quiet location with parking, which is a bonus. Short walk down the hill into the hustle and bustle of Boness. A very quiet, comfortable hotel - so quiet you hardly knew there were any other residents even though it was full. Chocolates and wine in the room was a nice touch.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. With best wishes & hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lodge Hotel

Address: Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — White Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your White Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
White Lodge Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.