We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawkrigg Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hawkrigg Guest House to your Saves list
Hawkrigg Guest House
Far Sawrey, Bowness-on-Windermere LA22 0LL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

What do you want and expect from a B&B? A comfortable room that is quiet, with a comfortable bed and a fully functioning bathroom? A great breakfast? Friendly, helpful owners? Combine these with a lovely, very quiet location with a great view over Lake Windermere, and you have just described Hawkrigg Guest House. We wanted a couple of days away and the Hawkrigg turned out to be the perfect place. The owners, Emma and Mark, have done a great job. If we return to the Lakes this is certainly somewhere we would go back to.

Room Tip: We had room 3, which has an en-suite. Very quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    10
    0
    1
    6
See reviews for
7
62
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bromborough, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Our daughter treated us (and our dog) to a 2 night break here for a special anniversary. It was a lovely break in an equally lovely place. We had room 4, which had great views and although the bathroom wasn't en-suite it was a nice size and was only across the hall. Our room and bathroom were very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and owner Mark was really friendly and approachable. There was a big field next door to exercise Ted in and the pub was 10 minutes walk away. What more could you want ? A great place, we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Lovely warm welcome breakfast was one of the best we have had. We had the four poster bed room which was a little small but had a beautiful view of Lake Windermere but would definately stay here again. Dogs welcome so really good for us and our border collie.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We have just returned from an idyllic break. Hawkrigg was a great base being quiet and peaceful yet within easy access of our favorite haunts. Our room was clean, quiet and very comfortable with a lovely view of the lake. We liked the pub down the road, The Cuckoo Brow. We had dinner there on our first night and they made us a packed lunch for the following day's walk too. All in all I'd recommend a stay at Hawkrigg. A lovely place. Sarah & Zak

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Second stay at the B&B! I love the location, rooms, price and breakfast. Would highly recomend. I really like the relaxed atmosphere and there is a great pub down the road. The B&B owner is very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Sorry I'm a bit late reviewing our stay which was in September 2012. We had previously booked for May but on arrival I fell and broke my arm, ended up in hospital so never got to stay. Emma was fantastic and very helpful. So we booked again for our 2 night stay and it was perfect. The bedroom was very light and airy with a very comfy bed and the views were lovely. Breakfast was superb and Emma couldn't do enough for you. The weather was perfect and we had some lovely walks followed by some lovely evening meals at the Cuckoo Brow (best to book) and the Tower Bank Arms. Both pubs had very good menus and were within walking distance. My tip is to take a torch for walking back from the pub.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights as a special birthday treat for my partner and myself. We arrived quite late but were happy to find our key and a welcome note from the owners. We stayed in room 1 which was lovely, tastefully decorated and very clean. The bed was very comfy and had a good quality duvet and pillows. The ensuite was fine too with a large shower cubicle. The view from our room was spectacular, looking out over the hills and water. It was worth staying here for the views, peace and tranquility alone! It felt like the middle of nowhere and was so peaceful but all the local amenities were only 10 min drive away. Breakfast was also delicious with a full english and plenty of cereals, juice etc. Yes it is served quite early which after a late night wasn't ideal but to be honest it was great to get us up and out. No point in going away if you are just staying in bed! Be warned if you don't like windy roads and are coming from the south its probably best to avoid coming up on the west side of the water. Go up the east side and cross over on the windermere car ferry. From there it is only 5 mins drive to hawkrigg. We did however see many deer, sheep, pheasant and bunnies on the windy road so worth it if you can cope with the narrow twists and turns! We would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Room 1 has 4 poster bed and panoramic view over the hills and water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawkrigg Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawkrigg Guest House

Address: Far Sawrey, Bowness-on-Windermere LA22 0LL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawkrigg Guest House is a beautiful family run guest house situated on a hill over looking lake Windermere.It has 3 rooms with fantastic views and all are en-suite. It is in the middle of the lake District national park, which gives you easy access to everything the lake District has to offer. There are many Pubs and Restaurants nearby, in the villages of Bowness, Windermere, Hawkshead, Coniston and Ambleside. It is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hawkrigg Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawkrigg Guest House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Hawkrigg Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawkrigg Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.