We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Garden Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Garden Guest House to your Saves list
Fairfield Garden Guest House
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Brantfell Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3AE, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
england
1 review
“best location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

we had a lovely relaxing stay before we had a hectic wedding week end .the owners tony & liz were very friendly and helpfull giving us good tips on where and what to visit. the house was very clean and the stay was just what we needed, we will return.and the weather was lovely .

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    59
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
19
192
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

We had a lovely room, the penthouse suite, with beautiful views from the windows.
The Guest house is in a lovely peaceful location but just a short walk down the hill to the nearest restaurants. The owners are very friendly, the breakfasts are excellent.We will certainly be coming back. The snow capped mountains were visible from the windows, lovely garden to enjoy in the Spring/Summer.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

We stayed at the hotel in the last weekend in january 2010. The location of the hotel is excellent. The hotel itself is very well looked after and the rooms are kept in immaculate condition. they are of a good size and the room we stayed in had a small but very well looked after en suite there was also a small flat screen tv in the room and ample tea and coffee facilities in the room.
The staff are very friendly helping us whenever we required it. They provided us with maps guide books as it was our first time walking in the lake district (which was unexpected but very nice)
The breakfast room was slightly dated in its decor but was very well presented. The breakfast itself was excellent. They had a wide choice on the menu plus they were happy to accomindate any other needs that you have. All in all the hotel and staff made a good weekend into a great weekend. we are planning to go back when we can.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

Arriving on Monday 11th Jan during one of Britain's coldest, snowy spells, we were received with a warm welcome and shown to our room and provided with Pot of Hot Tea and biscuits. Room very tastefully decorated, comfortable and warm with a lovely sleigh bed , room overlooking the gardens. Excellent bathroom with a large spar bath which accommodated TWO ! plus a double shower cubicle. Excellent full English breakfast and other choices. Fairfield Garden Guest House is in a good position for quiet peaceful nights and just a couple of minutes away (walking) to all local shops, bars and restaurants and the Lake. Very enjoyable stay !

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

We stayed at the Fairfield end Dec 09 into the New Year 2010 and had a fantastic time. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and made us feel very at home. We particularly enjoyed the New Years Eve dinner and fireworks laid on by Tony, Liz and all their helpers - it was a really nice relaxed evening. Location is great, a 2 minute walk to Lake Windermere and the town of Bowness. We stayed in the penthouse room which was brilliant - mood lighting, 2 TV's (husband expecially enjoyed this aspect), spa bath and shower with a view! Definately worth a visit if visiting the Lake District or for a quiet get-away-from-it-all break.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

The Fairfield is very conviently situated just slightly uphill from the centre of Bowness-on-Windermere and within very easy reach of shops, restaurants and pubs, not to mention the lake with all its associated activities, yet it was very quiet and peaceful despite its proximity to the town centre.
We were immediately made to feel like friends by the warm welcome, and this friendly atmosphere continued throughout our stay. Nothing was too much trouble for Tony and Liz, and we felt very much at home in their beautiful, charming and tastefully-decorated period house.
Our en-suite room was pleasant and well-equipped and we enjoyed a good night's sleep thanks to the quiet surroundings and the comfortable bed.
Breakfast was all we could have asked, an excellent start to the day and one which equipped us well for a day walking in the Lake District.
Unfortunately we didn't see the beautiful garden at its best as it was December and it was all white with frost, but we look forward to visiting again in the Spring or Summer and being able to sit out and enjoy all the colour and variety of the Fairfield's surroundings.
To sum up, no complaints and a lot of pluses!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

Stayed for just one night in a superior room with a lovely view of the garden. the room was gorgeous and the bathroom to die for. We were made to feel very welcome and as we were the last to leave we got a little tour of the other rooms. Would very much recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Garden Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Garden Guest House

Address: Brantfell Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3AE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairfield Garden Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield is a charming Georgian house set in quiet secluded grounds with its own car park. Located in a quiet cul-de-sac, yet just a few steps from the waterfront, shops, pubs, clubs and restaurants of Bowness. There is a spacious terrace and garden, a large lounge and free Internet and Wi-fi access. Four-poster rooms, some with spa bath’s, and a state-of-the-art penthouse. Generous breakfast. Champagne and chocolates available. Ideal for a romantic break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Fairfield Garden Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Garden Guest House Hotel Windermere
Fairfield Garden Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Garden Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.