We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Garden Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Garden Guest House to your Saves list
Fairfield Garden Guest House
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Brantfell Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3AE, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“our wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

From the moment we walk in nothing was to much trouble. Where we could park. Our room was lovely and clean. We had a welcome tray of tea biscuits proper mugs and even a teatowel. The bathroom was clean. We had plenty of space in our room, Breakfast were good, again nothing was to much trouble. Selections of cereals and juices. Even what you wanted for your cooked. Friendly staff very caring as well. During our stay my mother was taken ill the support and care given my the staff was great even making sure i had enough coins for the parking metre at the hospital. Would we come again most definately.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms on the flat if unable to use stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield_House, Owner at Fairfield Garden Guest House, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
We are fortunate enough to have some rooms on the ground floor which helps those with mobility difficulties. If you need one just ask. On this occasion we were so pleased that the guest was not seriously ill, and though it turned out fine we were happy to do the right thing at the time. Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    59
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
19
192
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bolton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had a welcoming stay over the weekend. Very clean room and comfortable, modern en-suite facilities. I would definitely recommend if anyone is staying in the Lakes. 200 yards down the road is the town of Bowness where there is plenty of restaurants and shops and Lake Windermere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield_House, Owner at Fairfield Garden Guest House, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thanks for your kind thoughts, we are very lucky to be so close to the centre of Bowness with all the restaurants and attractions it has to offer. Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

A wonderful stay with a great welcome by Tony and his staff. The confusion over booking was rectified straight away and we were upgraded to a 4 poster bedded room and the attic suite (2 couples)- very comfortable and warm. The breakfast was delicious-freshly prepared and a great variety according to taste. Definitely recommended-you will be well looked after!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield_House, Owner at Fairfield Garden Guest House, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Great that we were able to sort things out. Even in the best places there are little slips, and it is so easy to put right when a guest cooperates, thank you. Tony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcar
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

comfortable relaxing break. Very welcoming. Ground floor good as need to take dog out early. Good breakfast and service from Tony and staff. Dog not allowed into breakfast room but no complaints as sausage provided for him. Ideally situated in town and also dog walk..Dales way on end of road

celia and adrian

Room Tip: ground floor if you have dog
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield_House, Owner at Fairfield Garden Guest House, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thanks for your compliments, we enjoy having friendly dogs, and hope they enjoy their stay with us too. Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Excellent place to stay and very good value for money. Tony and Liz were very welcoming. Standard room on the ground floor as we had a dog with us and we had our own entrance without having to go through Reception every time. Good room with nice view of the great garden. Fantastic breakfast and lovely to be able to sit in the lounge with a book, a glass of wine and have our dog with us. Only downside is the steep hill but there is a great pub at the bottom. Excellent location, central to everything in Bowness. Have booked again to stay next year and would thoroughly recommend Fairfield

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield_House, Owner at Fairfield Garden Guest House, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Wow, so glad that we were able to provide such an enjoyable stay for the customer. There is so much to see and do in the area, with or without a dog, and we love being part of it. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We were given an upgrade when we arrived to a room with 4 poster bed. Room not really big enough for 4 poster bed. Bathroom was nice but bath would have been very difficult for an elderly person to get into. Bedroom needed redecoration as wallpaper was coming off in places. Windows didn't look like they had been painted in years.. overall a dissapointing stay. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield_House, Owner at Fairfield Garden Guest House, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
We are genuinely sad when we let down a customer, and would have liked to know they were not happy whilst they were here. We genuinely would like to know when that hapens so that we can try to put things right. We agree that any bath is difficult to get into for an elderley person, though quite often people with mobility problems have the good sense to tell us when they book so we can find them a room with a walk-in shower, we even have one on the ground floor which has a seat and handles. Just ask if you think you might need a little help. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Positive:
Good, almost central location.
On site car park
Able to provide boiled eggs for breakfast (so many places dont!)
Good service from Spanish waiter at breakfast
Lovely garden
Shower good (with the massage jets turned off)
Plenty of hair/body washes
Bathrobe & slippers in room
Dvd player in room & dvds available to borrow

Negative:
We were offered an upgrade to a 'bigger' room with spa bath as 'a couple had cancelled.' This should have been £30 extra a night but we were charged £15 extra per night. This was obviously not true as upon returning from a meal out another couple were checking in and were offered a free upgrade! I have also now seen (I was taken away as a surprise so we didnt know) that free upgrades are advertised on the net and seem to be offered as standard. Presumably as we got a laterooms discount we had to pay for an upgrade (my husband is a sweetheart & always pays for an upgrade if offered) but I think this is unfair as on the reviews most people got a deal/discount of some sort & got a free upgrade.
Spa bath very noisy and short, 6 foot husband too tall to stretch out in bath yet he can stretch out in our bath at home.
Not enough water pressure for 'massage' jets in shower so didnt really work.
Room small for price.
Bed very lumpy.
Rust stain on shower tiles by soap holder
Damp stain on wall by extract fan
Duvet cover threadbare and bobbly
Sheet did not look 100% clean
Continental breakfast was tinned fruits, cornflakes or bran flakes. Fresh fruit (bananas) looked antique!
Felt 'looked down on' by owner.
Bedroom carpet needs shampooing.
'Flame' of one electric tealight broken.

Unfortunately another place that feels because of their close proximity to a huge tourist attraction they can charge what they like and not provide good value. We stayed a little further out last time and would probably stay there next time as we were made to feel more welcome at the other establishment.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield_House, Owner at Fairfield Garden Guest House, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Ooh dear, we perhaps need to explain a little about upgrades as it can be a bit confusing. We make available Classic and Superior rooms on the booking sites, and have indeed offrered a free upgrade if the superior are available at the point of arrival. The customer in this case was offereed an upgrade to a Deluxe spa room which is not on the booking sites, and which is not a free upgrade. We often do this, rather than have a deluxe spa room empty we offer it to a booked arrival at half price. If you are booked in with us just ask, you never know! :-) Thats the advantage of not being a hotel. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Garden Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Garden Guest House

Address: Brantfell Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3AE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairfield Garden Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield is a charming Georgian house set in quiet secluded grounds with its own car park. Located in a quiet cul-de-sac, yet just a few steps from the waterfront, shops, pubs, clubs and restaurants of Bowness. There is a spacious terrace and garden, a large lounge and free Internet and Wi-fi access. Four-poster rooms, some with spa bath’s, and a state-of-the-art penthouse. Generous breakfast. Champagne and chocolates available. Ideal for a romantic break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Fairfield Garden Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Garden Guest House Hotel Windermere
Fairfield Garden Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Garden Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.