We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“' spotless'” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hazeldene Guest House

Hazeldene Guest House
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hazeldene Guest House to your Saves list
Hazeldene Guest House
Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
wood1wood1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“' spotless'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

we stayed in hazeldean for two nights and could not find fault .it is a lovely guesthouse and is spotlessley clean.room 4 which we stayed in had a lovely view of the lake and was very cosy.we have been going to bowness regularly for a couple of years and have to say that paul and lesley made us very welcome.breakfast was freshly made and very nice.we will be going again at the end of november.we have noticed some people have complained that the parking is inconvenient we do not think this is the case as lots of b and b's do not have parking at all!! looking forward to are next stay . julia and alan

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    12
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
55
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Normanton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

My second visit to hazeldene. Stayed in room 2 and loved it.

Beautiful lake view, 4 poster bed and big room.

Ideally located just 5 min walk from the lake and all the good restaurants in bowness just across the road.

landlords are welcoming, organised and have put alot of thought into there guests comforts.Which is rare to find in B&Bs nowadays.

Breakfast tasty and plentiful.

Loved little things from chocolates in the room to home made jams and homely atmosphere.

Private parking and wifi.

Cant find any faults and know where to stay for the next vists.....

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

very friendly hosts paul & lesley made us feel very welcome in their house everything about the place is smashing the bedrooms very good and wonderful comfy beds all the little extras chocs and biscuits every day also shampoo ect in the bathrooms, the breakfasts were outstanding catering for everyone and pauls homemade jam and marmalade is super another bonus is the location plenty going on around shops resturants pubs and only about 5 mins to lake.would defo stay here again

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallsend
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

We have just returned from a weekend at Hazeldene. The hosts, Lesley and Paul, were very welcoming and friendly. They referred to us by our first names during our stay which we thought was a lovely touch and made such a change from some big impersonal hotels we have stayed at. This was our second visit and we were not disappointed. I was even impressed that they had kept my hairdryer in their lost property box after I left it on my first visit two years ago. We stayed in the four poster room at the front and it was very pleasantly furnished. The dimensions of the room were fine and we had plenty of space to move around. The car park is right next door and it was no problem getting our bags from the car.

The location is perfect and you are only about three minutes walk to the lakeside. There are plenty or shops and eating places nearby so you will be spoilt for choice. We had a pleasant meal at Robertos and also at the Angel Inn.

We will definitely be back to Hazeldene again and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

One star...max! A B&B with tired, outdated decor, owned by retired UK government bureaucrats who run their B&B like a highly regulated government agency with little attention to customer needs or satisfaction. Lots of rules! "Do Not" signs everywhere. Over priced. Breakfast served only from 8:30 to 9:00 AM daily. Breakfast room is not allowed to be used for any other purpose, such as gathering with family members. No parking available near front door to load and unload bags. Parking one block away from B&B. Shower system is barely operational with very low water pressure. Steep stairs. Not suitable for any persons with disabilities. Not rated by AA or other B&B rating organizations. Overall, low quality with high price.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burnley
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

fantastic hotel, lesley and paul are so welcomingand cook a great breakfast!! would recommened to anybody and cant praise highley enough!!! we will be going back time and time again :)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
consett
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

just came back from a weekend away and couldnt fault this guest house. paul and lesley were very friendly and helpful.breakfast was just the job set u up for the day. room was lovely very clean would defo go back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hazeldene Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazeldene Guest House

Address: Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Hazeldene Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazeldene Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hazeldene Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.