We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent weekend away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hazeldene Guest House

Save Saved
You added Hazeldene Guest House to your Saves list
Hazeldene Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hazeldene Guest House
Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Excellent weekend away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We had a 3 night stay at the Hazeldene; it was lovely. A very comfortable guest house, our room (room 4) was quiet & had a lovely view over Lake Windermere - we had everything we needed in our room, even an iron, ironing board & wind up torch! The breakfast was very good indeed, very quick service and extremely tasty - the jams were much anticipated after what we had read on here, and they lived up to expectation, the only downside was breakfast was only 8:30 - 9:00. Paul & Lesley were very friendly and Paul was very helpful with tips on routes to where we were going.

Room Tip: Room 4 had a lovely view & was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    11
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
39
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
poulton-Le-Fylde, UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We have just got back from a 2 night stay, the rooms are spotless, the breakfast was excellent and set us up for a day out walking, Paul and Lesley are perfect hosts. In the evening of our first day I told Paul we was looking for a 6-7 mile walk, within the hour he had printed a walk with excellent details and posted it under our bedroom door ( Great choice Paul). Would recommend to couples, do not be put off by the front of the property it could do with a lick of paint and a few hanging baskets would make it even more appealing.

Room Tip: Rooms at front of the building can be a little noisy from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Have just got back from a 2 night break here and we thorougly enjoyed it.. From the spotlessly clean rooms to the delicious breakfast it couldnt be faulted.It is a 5 minute or so walk down to the lake so is in an ideal location.Paul and Lesley are a really friendly and welcoming couple,we will definately choose to stay here again next time we visit Bowness.

Room Tip: Room 4 has lovely views to the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Have just got back from a weekend away at the hazeldene and could not have been happier. Paul and Lesley could not do enough to help and from the the minute we arrived my boyfriend and i were laughing with Paul. We were staying in room number 2 and it was a great room with everything we could possibly need, the view from the room was so special and when opened the curtains in the morning could see across the lake and up into the hills. The breakfast was really good and set you up for a day out and the home made jam was good, i would recommend the damson and Port. Would definately stay again and recommend to anyone who was thinking of booking. Thank You to Paul and Lesley for providing such a friendly and welcoming base for our break in Bowness.

Room Tip: Would recommend room 2 if you want a view of lake windermere to wake upto
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANCHESTER
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012 via mobile

Although this guest house doesnt look much from the outside,its a hiden gem. A traditional english b&b with lovely clean spacious rooms,We stayed in room 2 which had fantastic views of the lake & fells. Paul & Lesley were exellent hosts serving up a great breakfast with a good selection of home made jams which are also available to purchase,we purchased the strawberry & apple. If your after quality,clean,welcoming accomodation with a great breakfast then i highly recommend this place! Many thanks agsin to the hosts!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Paul and Lesley have got it spot on.
Hazeldene is amazing, i cant praise it enough. brilliant location, room 1 was lovely, the breakfasts were amazing, Paul and Lesley are lovely hosts. from the minute we arrived to the minute we left enjoyed every second. we will definitely be returning and i would recommend Hazeldene to anyone.

Room Tip: Room 1 was perfect, at the back so no traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012 via mobile

We had a lovely time with paul and lesley at the guesthouse. location was perfect. The breakfast provided was one of the best i've had!! Definately recommend this guesthouse.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hazeldene Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazeldene Guest House

Address: Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hazeldene Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazeldene Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hazeldene Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.