We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cranleigh Boutique

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cranleigh Boutique to your Saves list
Cranleigh Boutique
Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Second stay at this amazing hotel had a wonderful time. hotel is beautiful in a excellent location, breakfast was delicious, staff were really friendly. Rooms are beautiful, can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    947
    124
    33
    12
    0
See reviews for
14
879
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cleator, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying in the Sanctuary Suite last Saturday and Sunday night. The suite is in a converted bungalow to the rear of the property and from the outside you cannot imagine the luxury you will find inside.
The quality of the fixtures and fittings is very high and so much thought and attention to detail has gone into the rooms. The bottled water, ice buckets, fresh lime and chocolates are a nice touch.
The hot tub area is really lovely. There is a large waterproof parasol over the hot tub so even if it is raining it doesn't matter. In fact there's something rather lovely about sitting in the hot tub with a glass of prosecco when it IS pouring down!
Breakfast was delivered to our room each morning and was of a good quality and plentiful.
The location of the hotel is ideal with the lake and numerous bars and restaurants all within 5 minutes walk. All the staff we came across were friendly and helpful and a special thanks must go to Elena.
As suggested by other reviewers it may be worth considering some sort of cover for the 2 windows in the bedroom as they do look out onto the car park but this certainly didn't detract from a wonderful stay. It really was a Sanctuary and escape from reality for a couple of wonderful days.
P.S. The strawberries dipped in chocolate are exquisite.

Room Tip: The Sanctuary is expensive but if you can, it is well worth treating yourselves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We stayed for three nights in a luxury room (12) and took advantage of an offer they had on - champagne on arrival and complementary boat trip on the lake. The room was lovely, especially the bath! Worth noting that there is no stand-up shower in this room but there is a shower head for hair-washing. Customer service was excellent - checking if everything was ok, chocolates on the bed at night, very efficient room service, wide range of DVDs you could borrow etc. etc. Breakfast was very nice. Excellent location - a couple of minutes walk to the lake and lots of great restaurants.

Room Tip: Some reviewers mention noise - room 12 was very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Boyfriend and I, together with another couple, stayed for 3 nights for daughter's graduation in Carlisle.

I expected better but can only be vague - I'm not sure exactly what I expected though comments on Tripadviser are very positive. It was sort of all front and no substance.

There was no bar but staff provided the drinks we ordered at reception. Our superior room was small and stuffy and I didn't find the mattress comfortable, so slept badly. It was a sort of memory foam thing and I know some people swear by them. Chocolates were provided and a soft toy was placed on the bed together with imitation rose petals. There was a rubber duck in the bathroom.

Breakfast was good and staff couldn't have done more but really, I can't believe this is the best accommodation the Lake District has to offer. We would definitely look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Had a super 2 night stay to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary, great location a few minutes walk from the town and Macdonald Hotel in which you have use of the gym and spa (would recommend). Stayed in room 10, which is classed as a suite, fairly large room with a bay window with no privacy, though it is at the back of the hotel. A huge luxurious airbath which I struggled to get in and out of (only 5ft 2), unfortunately no upright shower just a retractable hose from the bath.
I had thought when booking that I'd booked a special offer and didn't check my confirmation until the day before arriving,and found my suite wasn't included in the offer, unfortunately I wasn't allowed to change rooms, which would have saved me £100 and included a bottle of champagne and 2 Lake cruiser tickets. I was informed that they were fully booked though appeared to have vacancies when we arrived.
The staff were all friendly and helpful, breakfast was good, Vegetarian bacon would be great, also Quorn best of British sausages are by far the tastiest.
I've been fortunate to stay at 5 star hotels previously and have enjoyed L'Occitane toiletries and I think it's these sort of extras that I was expecting. Also things like the complimentary tea and biscuits (one pack of 2 biscuits) a little mean. Apart from the change of room there was nothing that could have been rectified during our stay but am hoping my comments are taken as constructive tips.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

I have OCD. This was our second stay and we will be back! Classy rooms, always spotless with the loveliest team. Breakfast is one of the best I've experienced with very attentive & courteous staff. Location is ideal for the town: very short walk up hill from waterfront. Top tip: best priced Laurent Perrier Rose in town! We love this place.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudson101, Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Thank you for your review and it was a pleasure in welcoming you back to the Cranleigh, hopeful the 1st of many returns. It sounds as if everything during your stay was delightful, which is music to our ears, great top tip too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is beautiful we stayed for 2 nights for our 7th wedding anniversary and they made it so special for us, they had laid out flowers chocolates n a cold bottle of champagne and a cute teddy we stayed in no 13 it was amazing lovely cozy bed, the bathroom with under floor heating n lights, was just amazing to relax in the bath with the mood lighting on watching the tv after a day ov walking the hills :).
When we got to the hotel to unpack my husband had taken his clothes out n found his shower gel had leaked all over his tops n the house maids were very kind the took them away n washed them for us n brought them back all clean, all the staff are very kind n helpful. Also when we got their we were greeted by the lovely receptionist Elena she was very kind, helpful will do anything to make sure you are happy :) nothing is a bother to her. I would deffo recommend this hotel to my family and friends and hopefully we will be booking again soon.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudson101, Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Congratulations on your 7th wedding anniversary., and thank you for your amazing review not only of the hotel but the staff as well. We pride ourselves on our customer service and I can see from your review we didn’t disappoint. We are pleased to see you would recommend us and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cranleigh Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh Boutique

Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located perfectly one minutes walk from the lake and the beautiful village of Bowness on Windermere. 18 individually designed rooms and bathrooms to choose from with unrivaled in room facilities providing 5 Star Gold accommodation. Air spa baths, bathrooms TVs, Free Internet access. Free access to incredible spa and leisure facilities. The highest graded establishment by both Visit Britain and the AA inspection team in Bowness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cranleigh Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Guesthouse Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Cranleigh Boutique Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cranleigh Boutique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.