We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable break for two.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cranleigh Boutique

Save Saved
You added Cranleigh Boutique to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cranleigh Boutique
Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic Summer Escape
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable break for two.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We enjoyed a two day stay in the lovely town of Bowness. Cranleigh staff were friendly on our arrival and helpful to our questions. the boutique hotel offered a beautifully decorated room with lovely extra touches and well thought out luxuries.
Breakfast was served by very helpful, smart staff and was very tasty!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    866
    112
    27
    8
    0
See reviews for
14
796
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Just returned from a two night midweek stay with the Missus. Stayed in room 14 and it was, well fantastic! Did the whole rose petals, teddy bear, champagne etc, and it blew my other half away! Lovely presentation, guys! The hotel is really close to the lake, and a stones throw from the middle of Bowness. Great pubs and restaurants on the doorstep too. The bathroom was amazing and I'm now being tortured to get one of those baths (easily large enough for 2)! The staff were absolutely brilliant and couldn't be attentive enough. The turn down service was a great touch too (oooh, who left chocolates????), and the freedom of being able to return to the hotel whenever we fancied (without having to traipse past reception staff at silly o'clock) was another massive plus, as our room was in a seperate building to the main hotel. Overall, it was mightily impressive and we'll certainly return. My problem now, is how to top this when giving she who must be obeyed a birthday treat next year. Oh well, I always knew I should've booked the Sanctuary in the first place...... Thanks for an awesome stay, guys. We hope to see you again soon!

Room Tip: Stayed in room 14. It's quiet due to the fact that it's not facing the main road. There'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudson101, Public Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, we are really pleased you had a fantastic stay with us and that your other half was blown away by the experience – that’s the impression we strive to achieve from all that we offer. It’s really nice too to hear good feedback about our staff also as we recognise the attentive service is what will set us apart from others.
Yes The Sanctuary is a stunning room; the outside hot tub is an excellent addition too. This would be the perfect birthday treat next year. We hope to see you again soon too. Thanks again.

Tha Cranleigh team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We went to the Cranleigh as part of our honeymoon and had a lovely and romantic stay. On our arrival there were chocolates and strawberries dipped in chocolate in our room which were divine. the room was lovely and exceeded expectations having seen the pictures on the website which did not do the room justice! the hotel staff were very helpful and the breakfast was delicious. we would definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudson101, Public Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thanks a lot for your lovely review. We are really glad that you had a lovely romantic stay especially as you were with us for such as special occasion. We love giving the added little extras like the strawberries and chocolate they are always so welcomed - it just adds that extra little something which you want from a stay.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

The Cranleigh Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed in room 5, on a "love package" for 3 nights
All the bits included, rose petals, champagne, chocolates, rose with hat pin (if you have a hat in need of a pin), turn down service. Even included full adoption of "Huggie" the teddy bear...Hence left as three.:)
The Cranleigh is literally 2 mins walk from the centre of everything that you would want...Lake Windermere, Cafes, Bars, Restaurants and some lovely shops. Make sure you go on the little red motor boats, they just topped off a lovely wind down 4 days.
The place is spotless, good staff, gorgeous breakfast, nothing is too much trouble and they more than deserve their tripadvisor ratings and awards!
Worth every penny!
Dave n Miranda
Pudsey
Leeds

Room Tip: we were in room 5 which is on the main road, we heard nothing other than my snoring :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudson101, Public Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thanks to both of you, we are glad you had a super time and that you agree we are good value for money. We definitely agree too about the little red motorboats; such a fabulous addition to a break in The Lakes. We hope to see you again in the future – many thanks.

The Cranleigh Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Just returned from the Cranleigh after a lovely weekend in this gorgeous hotel for our forthcoming wedding anniversary. Room 3 although stated as standard room was fantastic. Just loved the room and especially the gorgeous throw and lights! Lovely breakfast and staff. Many thanks Cranleigh for the card and chocs! Hope to be back one day! Thank you for a happy stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudson101, Public Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Than you for your review, it means a lot to get good feedback and especially considering the room has been recently refurbished and that you liked the new room and fittings.

We hope to see you again in the future, thanks again.

The Cranleigh team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

My hubby to be booked this for our anniversary last weekend. We had the most amazing time here... Everything was perfect and our room 16 was gorgeous even breakfast was perfect everything way beyond expectations. We will definatly be back

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudson101, Public Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
We will certainly look forward to seeing you again then providing you with many more amazing memories - many thanks for the review and Happy Anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Me & my husband hired out the hideout boutique for 2 nights, from beginning to end everything was fantastic! The place was spotless when we arrived & everything was there that we could of possibly needed. The breakfast was gorgeous too. Lovely staff, nothing was a bother. Highly recommend. May seem expensive to some but definitely worth it! Well done cranleigh.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudson101, Public Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thanks for your feedback it really is greatly appreciated, especially as The Hideout is a new venture of ours! It’s lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much so that you wanted to stay! It is also a positive for us to know that you think the same as our selves – it’s great value for money and well worth every penny! We hope to see you again in the future, thanks again from all of the team at The Cranleigh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cranleigh Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh Boutique

Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located perfectly one minutes walk from the lake and the beautiful village of Bowness on Windermere. 18 individually designed rooms and bathrooms to choose from with unrivaled in room facilities providing 5 Star Gold accommodation. Air spa baths, bathrooms TVs, Free Internet access. Free access to incredible spa and leisure facilities. The highest graded establishment by both Visit Britain and the AA inspection team in Bowness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Cranleigh Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Guesthouse Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Cranleigh Boutique Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cranleigh Boutique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.