We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny/pound” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Graythwaite Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newcastle-under-Lyme
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Graythwaite Guest House
Save
You added Graythwaite Guest House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   106 Lancaster Road, Newcastle-under-Lyme ST5 1DS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Park City
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Worth every penny/pound”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

This was our second visit here and there is no place else that I would stay in the Newcastle area. Hazel and John make you feel as though you are enjoying the comforts of your own home. The rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated. The breakfast is beyond compare. We would go out of our way to stay here again. Kudos to John & Hazel for creating such a warm and comforting environment.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
31
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed three nights and enjoyed every minute. Hazel was most helpful in directions and information about the potteries to utlise our time efficently as this was the purpose of our visit. Breakfast was beautifully served and a welcoming cup of tea and cake was most enjoyable. The room was very clean and delightfully furnished. Wi-Fi was fine in the room We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We had the twin on the first floor good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We stayed here as a family for 1 night. We received a very warm welcome. The rooms were luxurious and the bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in. The house was very cosy and warm. The breakfast was extra special. Lots of choice and everything home made. If we ever happen to be in this area again I would most definitely stay here. Thanks!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
255 helpful votes 255 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Graythwaite is a huge town house, which I would guess dates from the late 19th or early 20th Century. As a result all of the rooms are impressive, with very high ceilings. There are lovely fireplaces in many rooms.

The room itself is perhaps only 4.5 stars. Beautifully decorated, lovely high ceilings, comfortable bed and very quiet, but the bathroom in our room was very small.

What makes this guesthouse stand out are the very friendly couple who run it and the outstanding breakfasts. I had my best full English breakfast for many years complete with Staffordshire Oat Cake (an oatmeal based pancake). There was home produced stewed plums available, home made yoghurt and all the jams are home made from fruit grown just down the street.

I wholeheartedly recommed the Graythwaite to anyone visiting the Potteries.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend, whilst visiting my husband who was in the area on business and was staying here for a few weeks. I can only rate The Graythwaite as excellent. Traveling with children is always challenging, but if everywhere were as accommodating as The Graythwaite, life would be much easier. Warmth, comfort, and the best breakfast outside your own mothers kitchen, is what you can expect.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

You just won't better this accommodation and service. I have stayed many times. This was a very late arrival, but keys were left for me in a pre arranged location. An early departure before breakfast and I was presented with a fantastic breakfast box the evening before. The breakfasts are truly amazing, thanks John. Service is faultless, and the whole guest house is spotless. Nothing is to much trouble for the hosts, I only wish that the bigger hotels would understand what service and friendliness really is, because John and Hazel have got it. Keep up the good work! I cannot compliment this couple highly enough and would certainly and have done, recommend to friends and to all readers. Already looking forward to my next stay in May 2012.

Room Tip: Book well in advance, as this is a much sought after guest house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

As we drove up to the Graythwaite,we knew we'd made a great choice,it's in a quiet residential area of Newcastle under lyme.We had the most amazing welcome,it really does make a difference.Hazel showed us to our room(no 10),which was double aspected and a generous size.Hazel stayed and chatted and offered us info on the area.
The bed was huge and beautifully comfortable.There was a well stocked tea tray with the offer of fresh milk if wanted.The towels were proper bath sheets and again soft and fluffy.The bathroom was good too,with shower gel provided.I would reccommend everyone to read the blurb about the guest house,the family and the area,it's the best I've ever read.Also for animal lovers,ask to meet the boys-Reo and Monty,two Hungarian Vislas(spelling),they are a real treat.Now for the really important bit-the breakfast!!!It was amazing,lots to chose from,with homemade bread and preserves.We thoroughly enjoyed our night there and wish we were there longer.We were made to feel really welcome.The Graythwaite is a 10 minute stroll into the centre,we took a taxi which was £3.We wish Hazel and John well and hope to stay with them again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Graythwaite Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graythwaite Guest House

Address: 106 Lancaster Road, Newcastle-under-Lyme ST5 1DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newcastle-under-Lyme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle-under-Lyme
Hotel Class:4 star — Graythwaite Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Graythwaite Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.