We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great National Newcastle - Under - Lyme Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Great National Newcastle - Under - Lyme Hotel to your Saves list
Great National Newcastle - Under - Lyme Hotel
Clayton Road, Newcastle-under-Lyme ST5 4AF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Stratford upon Avon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Booked this hotel from Booking.com as a last minute cheap deal as we were off to alton towers, first impressions good clean, nice bar, rooms good sized beds massive as booked 2 x twin rooms and the singles are like doubles! Friendly staff throughout clean tidy good showers too, food was good and loads of choice for breakfast, I would stay here again in a heartbeat and recommend to anyone, thank you great national staff

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    58
    84
    63
    171
See reviews for
82
125
19
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I booked this hotel via late rooms and as a precaution rang the hotel after to check there definitely was a room, Receptionist told me there was. I travelled from Manchester and got there about 10pm to be told the hotel was fully booked. They told me to go to another hotel down the road The Borough Arms Hotel ST5 1HX.
This was the biggest dump I ever stayed in
Toilet smelt of urine and disinfectant and road traffic was terrible.
I have since complained to management at the Newcastle - Under - Lyme Hotel
But they have not even got the courtesy to reply
This place will definitely close down
Knowbody Cares

Regards,

irritated dude

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

When I arrived in the late afternoon there was no-one staffing the Reception desk. Two young women then wandered back from presumably being on break. The phone was ringing so, rather than indicate that anyone would be dealing with me, no eye contact was made and the phone answered by one of the women. The other sat looking meek (I later learned it was her first day, so fair enough). The staff member on the phone sounded as bored as it is possible to be without actually yawning. Her whole demeanor shouted 'pissed off'. Once she'd finished the call she dealt with my booking in the same fed up, unsmiling, manner. It was a most unwelcoming start. Her directions to bedrooms and the bar were cursory, no mention of any facilities or offer of assistance (given that bedrooms are located up stairs, through heavy fire doors etc), nothing that indicated she might hope that my stay would be pleasant.
The key card was a white plastic chip n pin style with a large, smudged, felt tip No 1 hand drawn on it. The door of the room had quite evidently had several different locks installed over the years.
The room had clean bedding, but the tables etc were dusty. The carpet was badly stained in places, most disturbingly with what was either ground-in red lipstick or blood...
The windows are aluminium framed and rattly. Some attempt has been made to stop this by stuffing wadded tissue/cloth between panels. It didn't work. The bent Venetian blinds and curtains with missing hooks just completed the dilapidated feel of the whole place.
The bar was staffed by a scowly man who kept leaving to...well, no idea. The ambience was strained, more like a train station waiting room than a hotel. There were blobs of food stuck to the seats.
Checking out time and I arrive downstairs to find a quite upset guest trying to speak to the Manager about her poor experience during her overnight stay (on a hot evening, signs on her windows that read 'DO NOT OPEN WINDOWS, WINDOWS WILL BREAK', followed by a shower that would not move from the hot setting, causing her to have to use another room to shower). The same Receptionist as previously was blank-faced, repeatedly stating that she couldn't get the Manager as he was in a meeting. The guest asked if there was anyone else that she could speak to about some reduction to her bill, but was informed that 'they are on holiday', and maybe the Manager could phone the guest later to sort it out? The guest explained she was on her way to a funeral and a phone call would not be welcome. I butted in at this point and suggested that in the interests of customer service the Manager, having left no-one else with any authority in charge, should be called out of the meeting to deal with the issue. The Receptionist said that she would get in trouble for disturbing him. I asked her whether she thought getting herself in trouble for asking the Manager to come and sort out a problem for a paying guest was more important than dealing with the customer satisfactorily. She went to get the Manager. The Manager, however, decided not to leave his meeting, but to authorise the Receptionist to ensure no charge was made for the stay. So a good result, but beyond poor in terms of customer service and overall management.
All in all a really rubbish experience. The place appears to be running on a shoestring. The credibility gap between the marketing and the reality is wide enough to accommodate an entire continent.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stayed at this hotel over a month ago and the quality was questionable. There were stains all over the carpet and bedroom and it was far too hot at night with no way to change the temperature.

Upon leaving we were asked to make a payment even though we booked through last minute and after making the payment we checked the receipt to see that we had been charged twice. We left our receipt and a contact number with the hotel. After over a month of phone calls and emails we keep getting told that the manager will get back to us but we haven't heard anything at all from him. Instead reception just keep assuring us that they have passed it on to him and are waiting for a response.

After lots of contact and virtually no interest from the hotel we will now be taking it further because they have took over £100 extra of our money with no intention of getting it back.

I must say again do not stay at this hotel there are much better hotels in the area for a similar price.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend.South Wales
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 1night never again. When we got to hotel tried to book in was told no room had been preserved for us, receptionist went to office came back to say they had a room not the one we booked as she said they were fully booked ,so had to take one that was offered
Wish we hand`t bothered room was small very hot tried to open windows found they had been painted over hands and all the frame. Bed was only 3/4 not big enough for 2people floorboards freaked as you walked over them not just our room every room as we could hear people moving about.Asked receptionist if she could recommends good Italian restaurant she said Frankie and Bennies,she obviously Dosn`t go out much or to young to appreciate good food.Reception area in front of desk had sticky marks on floor still there next morning at 730 am only had gone black with all people walking on it.Management would check cleaning of rooms as in our bathroom radiator next to toilet had urine splashes on it and bath edge had black mold were tile meets bath.

Room Tip: None at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

On arrival pretty disappointing nothing like the photo, then to be met on reception by a miserable scruffy looking blonde who could not raise a smile, unsure of booking and whether we had paid already (we had) and then demanded another £44 of us as security. No lift to our room so had to lug suitcase up flights of stairs and then corridor to room ridiculously hot. On the room very disappointing, effort had been made to make furnishings nice but dust and cobwebs, marks on carpets and walls and dirty grout all around the shower. No iron or board, no shower hat and no biscuits with the basic tea/coffee table. Was a massive super kingsize bed though just a shame this left no room to swing a cat! Also the windows very unsafe as just slid open. I would not risk small children in the room due to that.
In the evening we were going to eat in the bar but no one serving and so ordered room service which was ok. Breakfast ok but you don't get served just find a table and help yourself to food and tea/coffee from an urn of hot water and do your own toast. On the evening of the second night went to the on site Indian KAVI which had a very bizzare menu including fish and chips and very expensive but you did get included a flea on the table! In the night the room phone kept ringing but no one was there. Breakfast the same as day before. Checked out as soon as we could!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed this past weekend, paid £35 for a double including breakfast. Very happy room was clean and quiet, had a small issue with key not working but I phoned reception and this was dealt with immediately. Bathroom smelt odd (Room 51) bit I would stay again. Breakfast was very good the only thing I would comment on was that teapot would be nice tea bag in a cup is a little transport café.

Room Tip: No lift so tell them if you don't want to do stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Great National Newcastle - Under - Lyme Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great National Newcastle - Under - Lyme Hotel

Address: Clayton Road, Newcastle-under-Lyme ST5 4AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newcastle-under-Lyme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Newcastle-under-Lyme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Great National Newcastle - Under - Lyme Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great National Newcastle - Under - Lyme Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.