We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine to lay your head” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6 to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Clayton Road, Newcastle-under-Lyme ST5 4DL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Fine to lay your head”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as we were attending a wedding a few miles away and therefore had booked a number of rooms. The location of the hotel was very convenient only a minute from the motorway.

Having attended the church wedding service we chose to check-in and leave all the cars at the hotel before getting taxis to the wedding reception. A number of us checked-in at the same time and reception seemed ill-equipped to handle this, it took over half an hour to check-in 10 or so people. We arrived around 2.45pm and a number of rooms were not ready despite being advertised as check-in from 2pm. The room was fine although quite small. Whilst we had a family room, it wasn't any bigger than a double just had an extra bed squeezed in. When we returned later we had to ask for towels and toiletries, which I think had been forgotten in the rush to get the rooms ready.

We did not return until midnight so cannot comment on the dinner or bar service. Breakfast was a buffet and staff were friendly. There was a variety of continental and full English items but I was a bit disappointed that there were no additional vegetarian items when I asked i.e veggie sausages. However it was enjoyable and plentiful.

We did have chance to use the leisure facilities which was a welcome treat. The pool was adequate in size and clean. There was also a jacuzzi and sauna.

Overall I don't think this hotel would warrant a special trip, but if you need to stay in the area it is fine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Sir/Madame

Thank you for taking the time to write to Trip Advisor, with regard to your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent.

We pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service and are always very pleased to receive feedback from our guests.

I was sorry to hear that some of your rooms were not ready when you arrived, my sincere apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused .

Thank you once again for taking the time to write your comments, and I hope that I have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    156
    125
    55
    24
See reviews for
130
94
19
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swanley, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here Friday 24th and Saturday 25th May as we were visiting Alton Towers. We got there rather late Friday due to traffic and were checked in nice and quickly. Being a platinum priority club member, at the majority of IHG properties you are provided with an upgrade or a goody bag/complimentary wifi or drink..a little something, this doesn't seem to be the case here. It wasn't the be all and end all for me, but you do notice the lack of. So perhaps management may wish to look into doing something about this. Anyway..onto the hotel..fairly pleasent, does not appear to have been modernised in quite some time though..corridors could certainly do with brightening. Room was pretty basic and had 'standard' Holiday Inn fill to it. But the bed was comfy and the bathroom was clean, so if you're not looking for a luxury stay then you should be quite happy here.
Breakfast is quite chaotic, naturally due to the close proximity to Alton Towers it was primarily families/big groups of people..so very busy, which is fine but the hotel needs to provide enough staff to cope. Tables would go for a long time without being cleared whilst the queue to be seated would be getting longer. Not the fault of the wait staff at all, they really were rushed off their feet. Food took quite some time to replenished but when it was it was nice enough. They do offer 'fresh' pancakes which are made in this little machine, but may be best to not get your kids hopes up about it!...Morning one it had broken and the wait staff didn't seem to know what to do. Morning two, a mother and her child waited 25mins for a pancake to come out it..they were not impressed! Seems rather 'gimicky' and probably causes more problems than good.
We didn't eat in the restaurant at night nor stay in the bar area so unable to comment on this. If you have young kids though, they do have a nice little play corner which is great if travelling in a family, but not so great if you don't. If looking for a restaurant in the area and are happy to drive, I recommend the Wayfarer (seperate review) hotel reception made the recommendation to us and we were so glad they did. Big thank you to them.
Overall our stay was fine, it was nothing to write home about but at the same time nothing to complain about. I would stay again if visiting Alton Towers, but if you are looking for a nice luxury hotel then this isn't it. Location wise..just off the M6 and no motorway noise...which is great. I feel a bit mean only giving it an 'average' rating, but can't warrant a 'very good'. If I could..I would give a 3.5 :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Sir/Madame

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent and for posting your review. Your honesty and constructive criticism.is very much appreciated.

We pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service and are always very pleased to receive feedback from our guests good or bad to ensure that our high standards are retained.

Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience you may have been caused, your welcome on check in was not acceptable and retraining will be instigated to ensure continuity.

Once again, thank you for your response and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The booking procedure was straight forward, the deal was on the face of it good, sadly the old you get what you pay for soon came apparent, only a good deal if you like hard uncomfortable beds manky bathrooms and very poor service.

The room was too small for three, the bathroom was tiny, room for only a very small cat, and the beds were very uncomfortable. The staff lacked any sense of service, the advertised Starbucks was available only at certain times if the right staff member was on duty, the stock levels were shocking, a small wine list with most out of stock. The restaurant, if you could call it that, was probably the worst I have been to in a while, a fast food place has better service, the food was poor quality to say the best, when the starters hadn't come by the end of the meal, "no worries" was the comment from the waitress! We booked a 2 night break, close to the venue we needed to be at, but should weever need to revisit that area, we will definitely book a Premier Inn, by far the superior option. Stay if you find yourself at danger of falling asleep at the wheel and the nearest alternative is full, but only then and definitely only for one night, the quality of the sleep will help you to carry on with your journey.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Sir/Madame

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments on trip adviser following your recent visit to the hotel.

We pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service and are always very pleased to receive constructive feedback from our guests good or bad to ensure that our high standards are retained.

Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience you were caused. I can assure you that I have noted the points which you raised and that these have been shared with my Management team and will be actioned accordingly.

I am sorry that we were unable to provide you with your beverage requirements; we will feedback your concerns to our suppliers with regards to this, to enable us to try and deliver the service and products that our guests have come to expect from Holiday Inn in the future.

Once again, thank you for your response

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My stay in this hotel was excellent, mainly because the staff are very good, it is well run, the rooms are clean and comfortable, breakfast buffet is excellent, the bar is good, although sometimes the staff did seem a bit disorganised - due in the main to how busy they were. Centrally located in Staffordshire and just off the M6, represents value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Sir/Madame

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent and for posting your review.

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Standard Holiday Inn experience, with the addition of a leisure complex including Pool, Gym and Sauna. Pleasent dining and bar area by the main reception, great location to M6 and only a short drive to Stoke and Newcastle. Friendly service and fresh modern rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Sir/Madame

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments onto Trip Advisor, following your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent.

We pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service and are always very pleased to receive any feedback from our guests.

I was glad that you enjoyed your stay with us especially our pool and Spa facilities, we look forward of having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn in the near future.

Thank you once again for your comments.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed here over four nights during a visit to Alton Towers. Rooms were clean and comfortable - quite ordinary but perfectly functional. Car park was free.

Breakfast was good quality, and we had dinner a few of the nights there also. Food was surprisingly good, and children under 12 ate for free which was a nice bonus. It was over the bank holiday weekend, so staff were a little stretched. Things got a little slow in the restaurant, but we didn't mind it too much.

Staff were very pleasant, in the restaurant, house keeping and reception. Made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Sir/madam

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your feedback will be shared with our teams to ensure that we continually strive to improve our standards of service and care.

It is always pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn again in the near future.

Thank you once again for taking the time to let us have your feedback.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed here at the weekend whilst attending a wedding locally. We wanted to book in early to change and dispite the standard check-in time of 12.30 they allowed us to check in an hour early. The staff were all friendly and helpful and the breakfast in the resturant on the Sunday morning was excellent. The room was clean and fine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you very much for taking the time to write to us on Trip Advisor.

I was so pleased to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us and your feedback will be shared with my team to ensure that we continually strive to improve our standards of service and care.

it is always pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the holiday Inn Stoke on Trent, when you are next in the area.

Thank you once again for taking the time to complete your feedback.

regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6

Address: Clayton Road, Newcastle-under-Lyme ST5 4DL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newcastle-under-Lyme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Newcastle-under-Lyme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent is an ideal location for both the business and leisure traveller. The hotel is situated just off the M6 at Jct 15 and on our doorstep we have fantastic link roads to all destinations within the Midlands. Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent completed a 1.5 Million refurbishment at the beginning of 2007 including reception, conference facilities, bedrooms & lounge/bar. Stoke on Trent, fondly called the Potteries is famous for its ceramics, and has three city centres, Hanley, Stoke On Trent and Newcastle under Lyme. With 118 Air Conditioned bedrooms, all of which are decorated to an excellent standard, contemporary and comfortable, with all the up to date facilities you would expect from the Holiday Inn brand. The Meetings Network programme offers 2 suites, 7 syndicate rooms and high speed internet access.For the healthy minded the Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent has a fantastic Spirit Health Club which has a swimming pool and gymnasium, or lie back and relax in our jacuzzi and sauna.Local Intersts: ALTON TOWERS -Get your adrenalin pumping Ride Em We Dare You: WEDGWOOD - Famous for Pots and Ceramics TRENTHAM AWAKES - A touch of Italy with its gardens, vineyard, Monkey Forest and retail outlets.See our packages for fantastic family deals where kids stay and eat free. Terms and Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stoke On Trent m6 Hotel Newcastle-Under-Lyme
Holiday Inn Newcastle Under Lyme
Newcastle Under Lyme Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.