We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food- Excellent value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Chilli

Blue Chilli
9 Berkeley Court, Newcastle-under-Lyme ST5 1TT, England
01782 715 885
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Good food- Excellent value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Been this restaurant on many occasions. I used to like it when it was on King street and i was a little put off by its move, nevertheless have been to the Berkeley court on several occasions and it is always good. Contrary to what is said in another review everytime I have been there the waitresses are in traditional dress?

Food is always good and a special mention for the brilliant lunchtime menu. An absolute steal. It is less than 8 quid for two courses. Brilliant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    31
    14
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Dissapointed by rave reviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I went here on a works christmas party, where we had platters.

I must say I was dissapointed after all I'd heard a lot of good things about this place.

We paid 24 pounds each for our meal alone, and I did not feel we got value for money.
The sweet and sour dish tasted exactly like Uncle Ben's and nothing much more.

I will come to the restaurant again when it is not a set menu, as I feel this is what may have hindered the menu choice.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Great food....affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

2 of us visited tonight......2 courses and a couple of drinks was less than £30....bargain......tasty, quick service, friendly.....what more could you want???????

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great food, exceptional value !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Went for a business lunch and three options on a set menu. Went for starter, main with rice and a soft drink for under £8 each. Fantastic value for money but cheap only works if the food is good as well, which thankfully it was. There were five of us and only two people had same starters and/or main courses and everybody enjoyed their lunch and said how tasty it all was. Service quick, efficient and friendly which is just what you need for a business lunch. Recommend highly !

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We ate on a Saturday lunchtime, the new set lunch menus are great value £6.25, £7.25 and £8.25.

We had starters and then main with rice and a drink each. The food quality is very fresh and tasty and just enough, though could definitely have eaten more! Will go again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Chilli also viewed

Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
 
Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
 

Been to Blue Chilli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Chilli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.