We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite pleasant - lively atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rubens

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Rubens
40 High Street | ST5 1QL, Newcastle-under-Lyme, England
+44 1782 627699 ‎
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: "Long established cafe- lots of reviews on sites such as Qype, recently opened 22/9/11 Burger Bar".
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Quite pleasant - lively atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Interesting quirky decor etc Music very eclectic, jazz, blues etc Nice cake and coffee, menu seemed a little over-priced but can't comment on quality of food as I only had a snack. Friendly, great town-centre location.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    7
    11
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle under Lyme, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Brunch at its' Best !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Always a treat to pop in here for a smoked salmon and scrambled egg bagel on a Saturday morning plus a cup of the best coffee in town.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The service was timely, friendly and professional. Being from an Italian background I was quite overwhelmed with the great taste of their pasta. I would recommend the Brie pasta it was outstanding but please don't tell my mother. Also I enjoyed their Bread and Butter pudding. Just thinking about that now makes my mouth water. The place was packed so clearly popular and there was a very busy and friendly atmosphere. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Busiest coffee shop in newcastle!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Good choice of food that tastes good. Perhaps a little pricey. It's always full but the staff are still mostly friendly and quick. I can't drink the coffee though as its too strong for me!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“coffee”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

On Saturday 12/1/13 we bought 3 coffees, omg how bitter! The staff were very rude, condescending in fact - but they did give us our money back (£8, for 3 small coffees). On talking to other friends it seems to be a frequent complaint - their coffee is far too bitter - I have also known friends return drinks. The staff were rude, and implied that we knew nothing about coffee, when this is far from the truth.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rubens also viewed

Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
 
Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
 

Been to Rubens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rubens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.