We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Camp Hill Cottage

This property has multiple rentals:
Camp Hill
Camp Hill
Camp Hill
Sitting room with log burner
Dining room
Kitchen
Twin bedroom
Newcastle-under-Lyme
|
Rental Home – 
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dreunasen...
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“A hidden gem tucked away nicely in the countryside.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Such a lovely place and it had everything that we needed. The garden was huge and spectacular. Katherine and her husband met us upon arrival.They were lovely. We had other family members visited us later on Friday and the huge garden was an absolute bonus. We would surely visit again.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The garden.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
ExeterNZe...
Exeter
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect place for our reunion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

I stayed at Camp Hill Cottage at the end of June with 4 friends from University - we hadn't seen each other for 3-4 years so wanted somewhere central (coming from all 4 corners of the UK) and self catering that was a reasonable price.
I found the cottage online and the landlady was a great help when booking and giving us directions to get there.
When we arrived it was perfect. The grounds were stunning, there was ample parking and the cottage was lovely. All of us agreed that it was the perfect place to be and would definitely consider returning again.
My two smalls criticisms are - with the directions, we were told to turn left off the motorway (but not from which direction) and also it would be good to have a guest pack/information sheet, explaining the process - ie what we had to do when we left etc. That said, these are extremely minor points as we loved it!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
3 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Traveller...
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great place, quiet and idyllic, very clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We stayed here as a party of 6 over new year and were very impressed with the cottage. We found it well equipped with everything we needed and it was really clean. There was plenty of space for 6 of us to move around in and the photos don't do this place justice! It was great value too- about half the price of other cottages we looked at for new year.

The location was great too, quiet idyllic location with large gardens to explore and nearby wood to walk around. We also had a drive out to the Peak District for a walk one day too- about a 40minute drive away.

Would definately recommend!!

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Location
5 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
liv t
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing tranquil stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Really lovely self catering cottage.
The grounds are vast and full of interesting sculptures.
A car is needed, but it's worth it for such a special tranquil place to be.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
MARGARET...
Sheerness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable, spacious accommodation in a wonderful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We were warmly welcomed and felt at ease to just relax and enjoy our holiday.

The property had everything we needed with plenty of space both indoors and out. It was located in a good position which enabled us to travel easily to all the places we wanted to visit in the surrounding area. It was very helpful to have wi-fi access as this enabled us to get any information we needed quickly.

We are keen recyclers and were so pleased to find such an advanced recycling service available. It was also very interesting to see inside the main house and it would be great to come back in the future to see how it progresses.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Peace and space.
Liked least: Distance from where we live.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Canary_Fa...
Colchester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Summer Stay at Camp Hill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We had a great stay at Camp Hill. Cottage was well equipped and was in a lovely setting. We stayed as a base for going to Alton Towers which was a pleasant 45 minute drive and we managed to avoid traffic on every trip. The beds in particular were noteworthy as being comfortable and general good levels of facility. Very quiet and peaceful which was welcome. The provision of internet was a key factor for us and it really helped our holiday planning and general day-to-day life, i.e. having a Tesco home delivery on first day, planning trips etc etc. Good value also for a family break.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Cottage location and internet
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
ATDBrisba...
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Property - Excellent Hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012 for a stay in December 2011

With 4 adults and 2 children, we spent Christmas 2011 in this house and found it perfect for our needs. The property is well equipped and very comfortable. The hosts are on site and could not have been more helpful. We had other family members over for Christmas dinner and they were only too happy to help out with extra seating and plates etc.
Great location - close to major centres, but still very peaceful on 40+ acres. I would recommend this property and will be returning on our next visit to the UK.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: On site owners, who love and take pride in the property.
Liked least: Didn't snow on Christmas Day :-)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$151
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
this property has payment protection
Owner
Katharine P
Speaks English
Listed since : Mar 2009
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 19 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing