We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST IN THE AREA.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marloes

Marloes
13 London Road, Newcastle-under-Lyme ST5 1LQ‎, England
+44 1782 661983
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Situated just outside Newcastle Under Lyme Town Centre in a converted Terrace property, Marloes is a Fully Licensed Small Family Run Restaurant. Specialising in Freshly cooked and prepared English Cuisine using the freshest of ingredients locally sourced wherever possible. Opening Hours Monday Closed Tuesday 19:00 till 23:00 Wednesday 19:00 till 23:00 Thursday 19:00 till 23:00 Friday 18:45 till 00:00 Saturday 18:30 till 00:00 Sunday Closed
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“THE BEST IN THE AREA.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

From the minute you arrive, a warm welcome. cosy. food is all top quality. Wine is expensive but its all about the total package which is outstanding.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dale h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Greasby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely Ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was our first time at Marloes and it wont be our last
The food was fantastic, well cooked and well presented, the staff where very attentive
and gave us great advice on the wine selection.
My husband and I visited as it was our wedding anniversary and the ambience could`nt be better with a romantic setting, with low lighting.
Just a shame I didnt have any room for a dessert.
Would highly recommend for a great night out.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“overlooked gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The food and atmosphere here are fantastic. The fact that you usually need to book in advance tells you all you need to know!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Superb dining experience, did not disappoint in any way.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Visited Marloes for a birthday treat & could not fault the quality of the food. Excellent in every aspect. We will definitely return & hopefully next time have enough room for desert.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chessyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-Under-Lyme
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Brillian small local restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I love going to Marloes with my wife! It is a small, cosy place with an intimate feel. You should really book in advance to make sure you get a table but it is well worth the effort.

Due to it being quite small, the staff are very attentive and friendly. They really make you feel welcome and at home. Our waiter was also very good with wine and recommended our wine when we ordered the food. This was a nice touch as it made the meal more special – I don’t have a clue about wine!!

The menu is great with a good mix of food. When it arrives, the food is brilliant – cooked superbly and tasty.

It is also not too expensive – I wouldn’t say it was cheap but I didn’t feel ripped off at all. I felt we paid for good quality and that is exactly what we got.

I will certainly be re-visiting Marloes and it is one of my favourite local restaurants.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hols_and_Meals_Out
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marloes also viewed

Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
 
Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
 

Been to Marloes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing