We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST IN THE AREA.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marloes

Marloes
13 London Road, Newcastle-under-Lyme ST5 1LQ, England
01782 661983
Update restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“THE BEST IN THE AREA.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

From the minute you arrive, a warm welcome. cosy. food is all top quality. Wine is expensive but its all about the total package which is outstanding.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    77
    19
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greasby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely Ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was our first time at Marloes and it wont be our last
The food was fantastic, well cooked and well presented, the staff where very attentive
and gave us great advice on the wine selection.
My husband and I visited as it was our wedding anniversary and the ambience could`nt be better with a romantic setting, with low lighting.
Just a shame I didnt have any room for a dessert.
Would highly recommend for a great night out.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“overlooked gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The food and atmosphere here are fantastic. The fact that you usually need to book in advance tells you all you need to know!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Superb dining experience, did not disappoint in any way.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Visited Marloes for a birthday treat & could not fault the quality of the food. Excellent in every aspect. We will definitely return & hopefully next time have enough room for desert.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-Under-Lyme
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Brillian small local restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I love going to Marloes with my wife! It is a small, cosy place with an intimate feel. You should really book in advance to make sure you get a table but it is well worth the effort.

Due to it being quite small, the staff are very attentive and friendly. They really make you feel welcome and at home. Our waiter was also very good with wine and recommended our wine when we ordered the food. This was a nice touch as it made the meal more special – I don’t have a clue about wine!!

The menu is great with a good mix of food. When it arrives, the food is brilliant – cooked superbly and tasty.

It is also not too expensive – I wouldn’t say it was cheap but I didn’t feel ripped off at all. I felt we paid for good quality and that is exactly what we got.

I will certainly be re-visiting Marloes and it is one of my favourite local restaurants.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marloes also viewed

Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
 

Been to Marloes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marloes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.