We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme Central to your Saves list
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme Central
Lower Street, Newcastle-under-Lyme ST5 2RN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Ideal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a clean well presented Travelodge. Food is available. WiFi too. Free parking by ticket placed in car window. Ensure you request a quieter room at the back overlooking Lidl to avoid road noise. Right in the middle of town.

Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    39
    23
    6
    10
See reviews for
47
24
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Much improved since 2013 more confortable and the staff were very pleasent the only minor thing I can say is they could of added Mushrooms and Hash Browns the breakfast menu other than that we all had a great sleep and the lovely member of staff found us a travel cot which was great as our son was so shattered out.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It's an excellent place for stay, clean and comfortable. I stayed couple of time with my family (kids under 6), staff is very helpful. The location is ideal for accessing in north Alton Tower, Manchester, and in south Cannock Chase and other parts of Staffordshire.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here in April 2015 as a 2 night base for Alton Towers. Its about a 40 minute drive to the theme park but so are most hotels as the park is in the middle of nowhere. Easy to find the park from the hotel as within 15 minutes of leaving our car park we saw signs for the theme park.

Check-In
Perfect. Walked in and they found my booking just from my surname before I could even find the confirmation e-mail on my phone. Couldn't have asked for anymore.

Hotel
Easy to find and very clean throughout. Built on top of a Lidl supermarket near the town centre. The entrance is to the side near the smaller car park, with lift access up to Reception on the first floor. Seems to have 5 floors of rooms. From our room we could see the local Sainsburys and Morrisons is just 0.5 miles away. It seems to be in the middle of town so an absolutely perfect location if you want local amenities on hand.
Free parking either in the Travelodge bit or the Lidl main car park.

Room
Just what we needed; one double and two single beds with a bath/shower and small workstation as well. Clean upon arrival. Not a lot of floor space with 3 beds, but we only stayed 2 nights so didn't need to unpack. Tea and coffee provided upon arrival. Plenty of hot water but not a power shower by any means. TV with remote provided; could have done with a few more channels, at least the Freeview ones, but if like us you're only there and awake for a few hours it is not an issue.
Main double bed was comfortable; singles not so great (the kids reported). Maybe they need the new mattresses as well?
As the hotel is alongside a dual carriageway that goes through the town you can hear the road noise even with the windows shut. Not an issue all the time you're talking to each other or have the tv on, but when you're drifting off to sleep and the room is silent, it was noticeable. Didn't bother us as we were so tired from Alton Towers, but it may bug some people, especially if you like to sleep with the window open? The room was perfectly warm in the morning.

Wifi
I read on Trip Advisor so many complaints about wifi in hotels not working, but this hotel actually provides what it offers. Free wifi for 30 minutes that links to your device not your e-mail account, worked perfectly from our room, couldn't fault it. Another 30 minutes available after 24 hours. Gave us enough time to order a pizza from the local Dominoes online and check our e-mails. You can pay for more wifi if you need it.

Restaurant
Didn’t use this so cannot comment. Plenty of options in the nearby town and we stopped for breakfast on the way to the theme park, but having stayed in Travelodges without a restaurant, this looked a convenient option to have.

Summary
All in all, this was a perfect place to stay for a short trip to Alton Towers. Not too far from the park, plenty of hot water for everyone, tv, free wifi (30 mins), free parking, near all local amenities and a great price too. Would definitely recommend to anyone else.

Room Tip: If possible, ask if there's a room that doesn't face the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel clean and tidy however there was a group of Noisy teenage girls running up and down the corridors at 01:00am i was promissed a 50% voucher however this has not been received yet, i have stayed before and never had a problem.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here on a business trip. Quite a convenient and comfortable place. No fancy and frills. This particular hotel has a LIDL super market attached to the premises. Very convenient for shopping especially after a long day. Expect slower service as Hotel staff are limited and do multi tasking . Check in before scheduled arrival time are charged extra fees.

Overall happy and satisfied with the stay

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Entrance is difficult to find as poorly signed and looks like office entrance to neighbouring supermarket. Lady on reception appeared poorly trained and ask for assistance form bar staff. At the bar, the staff were friendly. Room was clean, warm and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme Central

Address: Lower Street, Newcastle-under-Lyme ST5 2RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newcastle-under-Lyme
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Newcastle-under-Lyme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Hotel.de and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Newcastle-Under-Lyme Central Hotel Newcastle-Under-Lyme

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.