We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good pub food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sneyd Arms

Sneyd Arms
1 The Village | Keele, Newcastle-under-Lyme, England
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Indian, English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very good pub food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

They have very good pub food, and Sunday lunch is also lovely. Went there all the time as a student at Keele.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    26
    5
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good choice of tasty pub food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Was at Keele University for a conference and hadn't booked dinner for the first night. I was pleased I hadn't in the end as the university staff recommended I walk to the Sneyd Arms, just off campus a few minutes walk away. The menu has a wide choice of items and the service is friendly. I chose the steak and ale pie with extra gravy. Very tasty.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Cosy and cheerful village pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

Nice countryside inn frequented by locals and people from the nearby university. Good variety of excellent pub dishes, including curries and fajitas.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-Under-Lyme
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Nice little pub, but there are several flaws”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

This is a really nice, quaint little pub in the rural village of Keele. The front bar area is mainly frequented by local people and is a good ‘snug’ room with plenty of character.

On the negative side, there are LOTS of students in this pub. The landlord is quite strict with them (possibly borderline rude if you consider students as customers?) but it does dampen the atmosphere somewhat.

We visited and had a ‘carvery’ lunch which I have to say was very tasty. However, I think they are stretching the term ‘carvery’ – you do indeed que up to get your food but a traditional carvery would be self-servce. In this pub, your food is put on your plate for you which does somewhat defeat the point – they could do this in the kitchen area! It also limits portion control which is probably the main reason that this happens. Also, the carvery was very pricy considering the area - there is a Toby carvery about 5 miles away which is half the price and you can eat as much as you want. I did feel a little robbed considering the price - it seemed I payed extra to go and have my food put on a plate in front of me.

Overall, it is a nice little pub, but there are a few factors that defer it from the ‘traditional’ pub category. There are also better, and certainly cheaper, similar pubs in the area.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Visited the Old Haunt from my college/university days”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

For many of us this pub is the venue for off campus beer consumption. As students at Keele, many of us without cars, we would end up or start our evenings at the Sneyd Arms. The landlord was renown for keeping discipline. There are essentially 3 areas and the pub has evolved over the years. The restaurant was added later. The front bar is a cosy place frequented by locals of all ages. Recommend dropping by. There are many good pubs in the area, though I understand the food here is good. I still see it as a pub though.... Recommended, in part by nostalgia.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sneyd Arms also viewed

Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
 
Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
 

Been to Sneyd Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sneyd Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.