We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bellisimo!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pasta di Piazza

Pasta di Piazza
Newcastle-under-Lyme, England
01782 617610
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Bellisimo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Holidaying in Sorrento last year really did open our eyes to the wonders of Italian food and this restaurant really does it well. This is now one of our favorite places to recapture some of the Italian essence we loved so much. Grazie ciao

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    58
    31
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Nice meal but not memorable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Dined here a couple of times now, mainly as a quick main course before the cinema. The greeting at the door was nice and the service was good. The manager (really tall gent) seemed to be watching us a lot which made us uncomfortable, (two friends gossiping over dinner before the cinema). The menu is very extensive and in my opinion very overpriced for pasta/pizza. Nicer meals can be had elsewhere for less eg: David's Brasserie or The Wayfarer. After our mains were cleared we were not asked if we would like coffees/desserts, which we would have done had the waitresses not been chatting at the bar ignoring customers. A nice place to eat but not memorable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“best Italian excelente food and service We will be back for sure.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Very nice evening the food was cooked to pleasure the service was excellent we will be back for sure the steak is to die for and the wine just beautiful can't wait to go back again thanks to all the staff that make our night

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“To many tables put into one room!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Went for a friends birthday had the 7 o'clock sitting so we thought we had enough time to sit and relax and a catch up with friends but we felt like we where getting rushed cause they wanted the table back for next sitting we didn't feel comfortable!! Then they brought us the bill while we where still eating which I think that's very rude!! We did really like this restaurant but put us off last time we visited, want be going back!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food, pretentiously priced...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

No denying the food here is brilliant!

A snapshot of Italian gastronomy in sunny stoke (well, Newcastle!)

Sadly, you really can't justify or ignore the price of pasta given its always been something of a peasant dish, overpriced!

However, for a truly remarkable steak, try any one of the fillets!! Yes, VERY expensive, but I guess you can expect this with good meat... Would be nice to see an option of rumps and sirloins too...

Good restaurant, but a little pretentiously priced!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pasta di Piazza also viewed

Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
 
Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
 

Been to Pasta di Piazza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pasta di Piazza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.