We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The unpretentious country pub I've been looking for” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windmill Inn

Windmill Inn
Main street | Linton, Wetherby ls22 4ht, England
+44 1937 582209
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 58 Restaurants in Wetherby
Price range: $3 - $30
Cuisines: English, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Windmill Inn is situated in the heart of Linton, a five minute drive from the market town of Wetherby. We are a quintessentially British pub, with original wooden beams and charming stone floors. During the cold winter months, the log fires roar away, yet in the summer, the award winning beer garden makes the perfect place for a relaxing day out. We're also proud to announce the opening of our two new boutique bed and breakfast apartments, nestled into either side of the stone arches, which has also allowed us to start serving breakfast.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The unpretentious country pub I've been looking for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

For years I've been trying to find a nice country pub just outside Leeds and have never found one until now. We've been to the Windmill Inn a couple of times in the last month with our kids (9 and 11) and it has been really pleasant - friendly staff, well-cooked and honest food and good prices. The kids liked it as much as we did and it was their request that led us there a second time.

We went on a Saturday and a Thursday evening and on both occasions it was busy but not crowded. There were as many in the bar as in the restaurant. Apparently the beers are really good.

It has a lovely beer garden, so I'm just waiting for a warm summer evening to go back with some friends and try it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    25
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alnwick
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice food, great staff, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We had a friday night meal, which was cooked fresh and was tasty and good value. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the service was good. The premises are nice and well decorated.
For two people we had a main meal, coffee and an alcoholic drink each, the price was just under £30.00, which I thought was good value.
I like to review a business on the service you receive which was excellent, however the owners cannot do anything about SOME of the clientele who use the premises, The words loud, obnoxious, rude, spring to mind!!
I would recommend this pub to others as you cannot condeme the presmises due to the manners of a small section of the clientele.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice little dog friendly pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We went on a rainy Saturday lunchtime for lunch and some drinks. Nothing exceptional but just one of those nice friendly places with good honest food for a decent price. I had a duck baguette and chips, my friend had lamb chops and we were both very happy with our choices!
I don't drink beer but my husband tried a couple of the draught ales and was very happy!
The dog was very welcome, although only in the bar area not the restaurant.
Overall would recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious pub grub/Excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Visiting this pub at 7.30 on a friday night it was a real shame to see the restaurant so quiet. We were one of only three parties dining. The menu is typical pub grub with some good dishes of the day. I opted for the pie which was lovely. Hubby went for the burger which looked great and he assures was as tasty as it appeared! The puddings were also delicious and the prices very reasonable for the quality of food served. The bar was packed with people queuing continuously (not something you see that often in pubs anymore) Staff were super efficient and very friendly just wish more people were using the restaurant. Perhaps we just hit it on an unusually quiet night?

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“One of my favourite places for Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I really cannot believe some of the reviews I've read on here about the Windmill. I've been coming here for more than 30 years for the odd pint, but I've been eating in the restaurant at least once a month for the past 3 or 4 years. Admittedly we only visit on Sunday lunchtime but we get a warm welcome and the food is always fine. Recently the place has raised prices and Sunday lunch is now around £15 for three courses but the quality of the food is excellent and the portion sizes are perfectly gauged so that you enjoy three courses without feeling over stuffed or starving. There's always a choice of a couple of decent hand pulled beers that are well kept. We always come here if we can't be bothered to venture much further, perhaps due to inclement weather, as we live only about 5 miles away to the east of Leeds. We've never had a disappointing meal and we eat out very regularly at least 3 times a week at places supposedly finer than this !!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windmill Inn also viewed

Wetherby, West Yorkshire
Wetherby, West Yorkshire
 
Wetherby, West Yorkshire
Wetherby, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Windmill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windmill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.