We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mallams Restaurant

Mallams Restaurant
5 Trinity Road, Weymouth DT4 8TJ, England
+44 1305 776757
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 205 restaurants in Weymouth
Price range: $34 - $72
Cuisines: European, English, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Mallams is a long standing favourite of both locals and visitors since 1990. The restaurant is in an beautiful position with views of the bustling harbour.The Tudor beams and stone walls of the listed building have a traditional feel but are complemented by contemporary decor. The food is very definitely in the 21st century, an eclectic mix of ideas from British cuisine, with a touch of French and some Asian influence as well, always using the freshest, local produce. Seafood is much in evidence, as you would expect, but meat, game and poultry feature too.All this mixed with exciting wines and cocktails and friendly and attentive service and a really personal touch from the hands on owners make this a venue to remember. We are always happy to discuss your requirements for special celebrations, anniversaries, weddings, birthdays and we will be pleased to design a special menu just for you.
1 review
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Simply brilliant. Food was fantastic. Service was excellent, not intrusive happy and friendly waitresses and we felt well looked after. We will be back to visit again. !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you. I will pass on your comments to our waiting staff regarding the service and we look forward to seeing you again to enjoy another "brilliant" evening with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    203
    61
    26
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Service was outstanding, the staff were friendly and efficient and they happily accommodated many varied dietary requirements and allergies. Delicious food too. Had a wonderful evening and will definitely return

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed what we do and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Weymouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Oh dear!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Ever had that feeling that the owners are doing you a favour letting you have a table !! well that's what we experienced this time ! have visited a few times before and had good service food etc but this last one was not good at all , we had reservations , but when the lady owner discovered we were not drinking alcohol she as good as gave us the cold shoulder , we assumed the profit margins on the wines made up for the special meal deal prices and hence no wine no profit! maybe a bit harsh but it was noticeable how we were ignored after refusing wine ! the meal itself was ok , not as good as past times, the burnt edge to the rice risotto cake hidden under the fish filet was cheeky ! and no I did not bother to complain! they must have know in the kitchen as it was quite black and crunchy ! maybe the owners are resting on past reputations or we just picked a bad Saturday eve !oh well probably will not subject our selves to this again on our next trip to wonderful Weymouth.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. We are really sorry that you felt you had a negative experience with us, especially as a returning customer who obviously enjoyed it enough to have been several times.

We are quite upset by the idea that we give people the "cold shoulder" if they are not drinking alcohol, in fact we have an extensive range of non-alcoholic cocktails and drinks on our list. I am the lady owner you mention in your review and I can assure you that this is not the case.

If you felt there was any sort of problem with your meal then as always it really is much better to tell us at the time in order that the problem can be resolved. The dish you are describing is always presented with the bass on top of the risotto cake so it was not an attempt to hide it and my chef assures me that he would never send any dish out burnt, nor would I let him.

We are sorry that you feel you will not be visiting us again as we value each and every one of our customers many of whom have been loyal to us for many years.Perhaps you will change your mind if you visit Weymouth again and we will be very pleased to see you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weymouth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mallams, simply the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Most recent visit this weekend and they have managed to surpass themselves. The latest menu is extensive and there were six of us in the group so tried many of the different dishes. All were superb and the fish of the day was just brilliant. Topped off with wonderfully tempting sweets and washed down with a fair wine selection you just can't ask for more. Although it has a reputation for being the best in town, Mallams is no more expensive than many other restaurants especially when considering value for money. If you want the best you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you, your comments are very welcome and we are so happy you and your friends enjoyed their evening. We appreciate your comments about the price of our menu, we try and consistently offer the very best produce at a fair price and always study our peers to ensure we remain competitive in these very challenging times. Our new menu will offer even better value and some really exciting new dishes and drinks so do keep a look out for news of the launch date. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Has to be the best restaurant in Weymouth.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Have been here again for the third time and have never been dissappointed. After being there for over 20years you can see why they have stood the test of time. The food is consitently exciting, local and carefully prepared. Everytime I have been there has always been something unusal both on the wine and drink menu's to try and the cosy atmosphere is just delightful. I cannot wait till the next time I can visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. Your sentiments are very much appreciated, it is nice to know people appreciate the hard work that goes in to keeping a business successful after so many years at the helm. We look forward to seeing you again, a new menu will be launching very soon if you need an excuse to visit !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mallams Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mallams Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mallams Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.