We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mallams Restaurant

Mallams Restaurant
5 Trinity Road, Weymouth DT4 8TJ, England
+44 1305 776757
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 205 restaurants in Weymouth
Price range: $34 - $72
Cuisines: European, English, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Mallams is a long standing favourite of both locals and visitors since 1990. The restaurant is in an beautiful position with views of the bustling harbour.The Tudor beams and stone walls of the listed building have a traditional feel but are complemented by contemporary decor. The food is very definitely in the 21st century, an eclectic mix of ideas from British cuisine, with a touch of French and some Asian influence as well, always using the freshest, local produce. Seafood is much in evidence, as you would expect, but meat, game and poultry feature too.All this mixed with exciting wines and cocktails and friendly and attentive service and a really personal touch from the hands on owners make this a venue to remember. We are always happy to discuss your requirements for special celebrations, anniversaries, weddings, birthdays and we will be pleased to design a special menu just for you.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I have been eating at Mallams for 19 years and it is consistently delicious! This is one restaurant when you just know that the menu will be inventive and exciting, the atmosphere is always fabulous, the staff perfect and of course the view fantastic! This last meal was no exception! Everything was absolutely gorgeous from the cocktails to the coffee! I would have no hesitation to recommend this restaurant because it really stands out from the crowd. Janice and Steve are the perfect hosts and I look forward to our next visit, which hopefully wont be that long away as I have a Birthday in a few weeks!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you for your fabulous review. We are so pleased that you love what we do especially as you have been coming to us for so long and still enjoy it. We look forward to having the pleasure of your company and serving you good food for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    202
    61
    26
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, Lancashire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner in comfortable surroundigs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This was our second visit - the last one in Olympic year. This meal was even more enjoyable!

The four of us enjoyed cocktails from the extensive drinks list. My Martini was nearly perfect but will ask for it dryer next time! The menu is interesting and varied and we all ate from the set menu. I started with baked goat cheese with black garlic and rosemary, followed by wonderful confit duck leg with puy lentils and spiced red cabbage and ending with a trio of apple desserts including ice cream and mini toffee apples. All was well cooked, flavoured and presented.

We chose and excellent Picpoul de Pinet - mainly for those who ordered fish dishes - and a Cote du Rhone. I finished with an apple dessert wine to accompanied my apple dessert which went very well.

The bill for four came to about £200 - which I thought fine for such a high quality dinner.

Well done - we'll be back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for your very kind review. We have been chatting on the twittersphere which was lovely. Hope to see you again next time you come down to your holiday home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fab and friendly New Year's Eve!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Our third Nye at mallams was a very enjoyable and fun evening! The food, as always, was great - the terrine and seafood starters were delicious and the Cajun salmon and puddings were excellent. Great wine list, fizz and atmosphere means we will definitely be back!! Steve, Janice and the team - thank you for a great night.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. Wow! Three years welcoming in the new year, that is quite something. Hope you can make it this year, we just need to think of a suitable theme now. All ideas gratefully received!! Hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alresford
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“New Year Revels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Spent New Year's Eve here with small group of friends. New York theme well developed with dress and the menu. Great evening out

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for taking time out to post a review, it is much appreciated. We are very flattered to have had so many good reviews of our New Year celebration, it makes all the hard work involved in putting on a special event really worthwhile. We hope you will consider coming back to welcome in 2015!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“New Years Eve 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This was our first new years eve at mallams and will not be our last (work allowing) with a warm welcome and a festive spirit the service was very good as was the food.we could not fault the evening and will be hoping to return before next new years eve thank you again to Janice,Steve and team

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you. We are so glad you enjoyed the evening, and we too hope you will be able to visit us again during 2014. We do have an offer on at the moment if that might tempt you. Just check out our website for more details!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mallams Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mallams Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mallams Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.