We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for quality food and wine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mallams Restaurant

Mallams Restaurant
5 Trinity Road | The Old Harbour, Weymouth DT4 8TJ, England
+44 1305 776757
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 204 Restaurants in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $24 - $59
Cuisines: Seafood, International, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Mallams is a long standing favourite of both locals and visitors since 1990. The restaurant is in an beautiful position with views of the bustling harbour.The Tudor beams and stone walls of the listed building have a traditional feel but are complemented by contemporary decor. The food is very definitely in the 21st century, an eclectic mix of ideas from British cuisine, with a touch of French and some Asian influence as well, always using the freshest, local produce. Seafood is much in evidence, as you would expect, but meat, game and poultry feature too.All this mixed with exciting wines and cocktails and friendly and attentive service and a really personal touch from the hands on owners make this a venue to remember. We are always happy to discuss your requirements for special celebrations, anniversaries, weddings, birthdays and we will be pleased to design a special menu just for you.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent value for quality food and wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We choose the sparkle menu, which meant we had 3 courses of possibly the best quality food in Weymouth at an amazing price. My beef was so tender, but was really jealous of the other halfs trio of fish. Also clear to see that every bottle of wine on the list had been personally chosen by someone who knows what they are doing. Service was attentive, polite and down to earth. If I wasn't on holiday, I'd definitely be going back. Can't fault the place at all, loads of charm and character.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your evening so much and hope that you will be tempted back to Weymouth perhaps when the weather finally warms up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    85
    34
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Sadly we were disappointed in our evening. Mistake made with Pre dinner drinks order, a very long wait for main courses. Choice of bream a mistake as both bream and julienne vegetables overpowered by the soy sauce , in fact ruined. I should have sent it back immediately but.....
Unfortunately it was also a very cold evening , and we found the restaurent cold too.
We visit the area regularly but won't be returning to Mallams.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. We are sorry that you found your evening to be a disappointing one.

There was a indeed a mistake on your drinks order between Pinot Grigio and Pineau des Charentes but it was rectified straight away when pointed out.

We really wish that you had said something at the time about your meal as we would much rather we had had the opportunity to give you a dish that was to your liking than to have you go away dissatisfied. We do check on all tables during their meal and customers also have the opportunity to fill in a comment card but nothing was mentioned to us at the time.

I do recall you saying you had a draught around your back at the end of your meal and you swapped places with your companion. I offered to move you all to the adjacent table right next to the heater but you declined. I did check, as I told you on the night and the temperature in the restaurant was 21.5 degrees. It has been very difficult during these exceptionally cold nights to get premises up to a decent temperature but I am sure you will agree that 21.5 is acceptable.

I am sorry that you will not visit us again as we value all our customers very highly and our only wish is to make sure that they have an outstanding experience when they visit us. Perhaps you will re-consider and pay us another visit next time. We look forward hopefully to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“little gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Excellent seafood and fish, 2 courses set price menu (supplements for some dishes) do pay extra to have a dessert they're worth it!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your review and once again we are so pleased you enjoy what we do. Don't forget next time you visit you can check our latest menus on our website and if you sign up to our newsletter we will send you a small welcome gift. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Quality dining experience, at a good price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013


Although it was a quiet night there was a warm welcome at Mallams.We f took advantage of off peak offers -3 courses from set menu de hote £19.50 & 2 courses from a la carte £24.50 .Both proved excellent.Pate , Scallops starters were good followed by great sea bass & the best lamb rack I have ever tasted! Too full for dessert, coffee was also excellent.A real find for lovers of great food in a town catering for the masses.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you so much. We are so pleased you enjoyed what we do and we look forward to welcoming you back to Mallams next time you visit Weymouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Evening, Try the Sparkling Menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We had a superb meal & relaxed evening last Friday. We had not visited Mallams before and made the booking because the ladies in our party, Valerie & Sandra had heard about & were insistent that they should have the rabbit featuring on the 3 course Sparkling menu. The food was indeed delicious, service spot on & harbour setting delightful. We did find the wine list to be a liitle pricey and we would like to see a house wine option or two on offer.
Nevertheless we will be returning!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad that you had a positive experience with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. We are on the look out for some great value wines as we speak and have some delicious new wines coming on stream from Galicia in the near future which we absolutely love. Do come back and give them a try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mallams Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mallams Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mallams Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.