We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very welcoming, clean, great breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Valentines Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Valentines Guest House to your Saves list
Valentines Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   1 Waterloo Place | Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7NS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 161 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Hove
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very welcoming, clean, great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

My friend and I stayed six days at Valentines B&B in Weymouth. I would recommend that place to everyone. It is a very clean, welcoming place and it is next to the seafront. We enjoyed our breakfast very much. Sue (the owner) makes the best vegetarian English breakfast. We loved it. (You can have it with meat as well).

The centre of Weymouth and the Harbour are in less than 10 minutes walking distance reachable. We went for few great walks alongside the sea with breathtaking views. From the Harbour ferries leave daily to Jersey. As my friend and I have never been to Jersey before so we decided to visit Jersey as well. We took the 6:30am ferry and returned the same day at about 11pm to Weymouth.

We did have a great time. Thank you again Sue and Graham.

Seher and Cener :-)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    10
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
40
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
IOW
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

Wanted a top spot for an unspoilt weekend away, and we got it!
I had chosen the room from looking at their website, and we were not disappointed...very light, fresh and airy, with oodles of space to relax in, and take in the view. Valentines is about a 10 min walk along the prom to the centre of Weymouth which is perfect as you are out of the hubbub, but the mosy along the seafront is beautiful..
Breakfast is served in a relaxed dining room - they offer yoghurt, cereals, juice, but their full fried breakfast does take alot of beating!!
Sue and Graham gave us a lovely welcome, and made sure everything was tiptop throughout our fun, yet relaxing weekend. I wish them all the best with their new venture - we'll definately be back!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

Good sized room, beautifully decorated, en-suite with everything you could want including tea/coffee and biscuits, miniature toiletries and a shower cap in the bathroom together with a fan heater, useful for cold mornings. There is even a small fridge, wine glasses and a bottle opener in the bedroom. Bed was extremely comfortable, one of the best I've slept in.

Another highlight of the Valentine Guest House are the breakfasts, along with cereal, toast and fruit, Sue offers delicious cooked breakfasts with options including poached eggs on toast, baked beans on toast or full English, just the thing for a busy day's travel.

Overall, this was a fantastic find and I was sorry not to be able to stay longer. I would certainly recommend it to all on TripAdvisor.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for a short weekend break. The guest house has been closed for a couple of years but reopened in March this year (I think), with Graham and Sue as the new landlord & landlady. Both were very friendly throughout our stay and the breakfast was very good too - never had to wait very long and served hot and fresh to order. The dining room is at the front of the guest house and is lovely and bright and airy. We stayed in one of the rooms with a four-poster bed, but to be honest, without any drapes around the bed, it didn't really have that 'wow factor'. The bed was comfortable though and we slept well. The bedding and the towels were very fresh and although the bathroom was adequate, it was quite narrow (and the mirror a little high for short people!). The shower was good and the standard of cleanliness throughout the room and the rest of the guest house was excellent. There was a mini fridge in the room, which some may find useful, we didn't bother with it though as we thought the sound of it humming throughout the night would be a bit irritating! The situation of the guest house is right at the opposite end of the Esplanade to the harbour, so this is about a 10-15 minute walk to the other end; because of this, the area around the guest house is fairly quiet in the evenings. All in all, we had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2007

Valentines is a lovely guest house on the seafront. Our room had a dual aspect sea view at no extra cost. The room was very large & pretty with a four poster bed and all the usual amenities and had a small fridge which we found useful.

The breakfast was excellent, after a choice of cereals & some orange juice, the cooked breakfast was great, it wasn't too over the top (which I find can find a bit off putting) and was cooked to perfection. The dining room was lovely again with sea views and all matching crockery, a silver effect tea set & napkin rings. All little touches that make a big difference in my opinion.
Jackie & Gerry were lovely and really take pride in Valentines which showed. I would recommend this guest house to anyone and if I'm lukcy enough to visit Weymouth again will choose Valentines.

  • Liked — The Sea View & Breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Valentines Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valentines Guest House

Address: 1 Waterloo Place | Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Valentines Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run Grade 11 listed Georgian guest house located within easy walking distance of the beach, town centre and rail and bus stations. All rooms en-suite, some with sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Valentines Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentines Guest House Weymouth, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valentines Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.