We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable stay where we were well looked after by Sue and Graham.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Valentines Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Valentines Guest House to your Saves list
Valentines Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   1 Waterloo Place | Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7NS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 161 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean, comfortable stay where we were well looked after by Sue and Graham.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

My husband, our two year old son and I were well looked after when we stayed at The Valentine. Our room was clean and comfortable with everything we needed in it. A great location with easy access to the beach. Will recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    10
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
40
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

just back from our 2nd stay at the valentines guest house weymouth yet again faultess, stayed in front second floor bedroom with bay at front and also a small side windows, great views across the bay lovely clean room and brilliant hosts nothing is to much for them whatever you want they will go the extra mile to accomodate your every need, make valentines your first stop when in weymouth you will not be disappointed

Room Tip: the only downside is noise from traffic at night and in the early morning in front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

I took my partner here for a surprise birthday get away for 3 nights and she really enjoyed the surprise, it was an absolute pleasure staying here. Beautiful room with a 4 poster bed and sea views! Very clean and tidy. The owner's were lovely and the whole place was just superb!!! Especially the huge full English breakfast!! Plenty of good restaurants, pubs and bar's! It's close to all the local attractions all within a short walk. The historichharbour is fantastic with lots of old pubs lining it and overlooking it! We would definitely come back again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letcombe Regis, OXON
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My wife and I went to Weymouth for my 'birthday weekend' and, after researching Trip Advisor, settled on Valentines Guest House.

We had bedroom 2, at the front and with a nice big four-poster bed. The room itself is great, with a nice 'seating area' in the bay window, looking out onto the 'boardwalk' and the beach, both of which are just across the road. Lovely view on a sunny day!

The owners have thought of everything - there is a large bottle of water provided each day, with a couple of glasses. There is a corkscrew, two wine glasses, plus a little fridge that you can use which was the perfect size for a bottle of wine! There are two very good bedside lamps, a fair sized wardrobe (with small ironing board and iron provided), a hairdryer, a digital LCD TV, a kettle and coffee making facilities (with coffee / tea / milk provided, along with coffee mugs); all in all, you would be hard pressed to need anything else. The bathroom had a corner shower, with very hot water which was welcome after a day out on the beach and in the cold wind - what on earth has happened to our Spring?

We stayed for three nights; each morning, we went down for breakfast (sensible time, served up until 09:30 so you didn't have to jump out of bed at some ludicrous hour) and, again, were very impressed with this. There was a selection of cereals, fresh fruit salad, orange and apple juice, plus toast and marmalade. Sue would take our individual orders and we would receive a breakfast cooked to perfection - no 'fatty' bacon that so many hotels use, great sausages and eggs poached to perfection - just slightly runny in the middle! We didn't bother with lunch on Sunday, due to having such a large and satisfying breakfast.

In summary, we couldn't fault the place. I have stayed in some 'interesting' B&B's over the years, where the service was very poor - but then we would simply put it down to experience and not go back. One place, in Weston Super Mare, was so awful we left after one night! But this B&B is a hidden gem and we will certainly return - Weymouth is a great seaside town with lots to do, some lovely walks and a fascinating little harbour. All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and knowing that we had a lovely room to return to each evening just added to the enjoyment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

What a fabulous stay in this welcoming and friendly Guest house with a view of the sea and great rooms. We booked at short notice and were welcomed so warmly by Sue, and then fed a massive and delicious breakfast by Graham the next morning. Personal choice was the order of the day! Superb! The four poster bed in our front room was very comfortable and we loved the fact that we had plenty of room to sit and read in the bay window while the wind howled outside. A view of the sea made it perfect. Or we could have made the most of the cosy sofa and reading materials downstairs. The parking permit was a real blessing so that we could park just around the corner. The walk to town was a lovely stroll for us along the sea front - about 10- 15 minutes to town and 20 to the harbour. Enzo's restaurant, just a few minutes away is excellent and then a wide range of other restuarants easily available in the harbour.
We will be back.

Room Tip: The front rooms are great and lovely views, but If the traffic might bother you ask for a room at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

booked for 2 nights while visiting the tank museum at Bovington,the hosts could have not have been more welcoming,the rooms were clean,warm (it was windy and cold outside) and the bathroom had nice touches.Easy to find,parking was greatly helped by the owners(its a nightmare in Weymouth) with a permit and the cooked breakfast was excellent,would definitely return.
thank you for restoring my faith in British hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We booked a night away for my birthday and was so pleased we booked the valentine. We had a great stay the room was lovely and the owners couldn't of been more helpful. We would defiantly book to stay hear again.

Room Tip: 4 poster bed in see view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Valentines Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valentines Guest House

Address: 1 Waterloo Place | Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Valentines Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run Grade 11 listed Georgian guest house located within easy walking distance of the beach, town centre and rail and bus stations. All rooms en-suite, some with sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Valentines Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentines Guest House Weymouth, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valentines Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.