We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very poor hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Riviera Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riviera Hotel to your Saves list
Riviera Hotel
Bowleaze Cove, Weymouth DT3 6PR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Weymouth
Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“very poor hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

this is an iconic art deco building which has been tastefully refurbished to the art deco period. but then it goes down hill. the room was small but comfortable but the cleaning was very poor and we had to complain that our room had not been cleaned properly on one occasion also there was never enough shower gel or shampoo left for us and we had to keep asking at receiption for more the carpet had not been cleaned in the seven days of our stay. on arrival the restuarant was closed so we could not get a meal or hot drink after our long journey apparently they had no chief. the breakfasts were very basic and there was no continental choices or fruit to put on your cereal etc. also there was cereal spilt all on the table and not cleaned away. the staff did not seem to know what they were doing and seemed like agency staff. it reminded me of a school canteen. we think this hotel is not worthy of a three star rating and is over priced for what we had. we will not be returning and will not recommend this to our friends.

Room Tip: use another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    148
    131
    83
    130
See reviews for
81
290
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The rooms have been refurbished but unfortunately not stretched. To pass whilst moving around the bed one of you has to step into the bathroom!! Sea view, well, come out of your room onto a shared balcony which is also the only access to all rooms so basically an outside corridor, crane your neck and you see the sea. Your tiny window looks onto the corridor. It took 45 minutes to check in because the extras from an episode of Fawlty Towers made a mistake with every person in front of us. Luckily we found it highly amusing, that is until we moved forward and they tried to take payment for a room that someone had already paid for on our behalf. Basic customer service training most definitely needed.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

room size was small but still ok, cleaning was very poor,didnt look like it had been hooverd,hairs in the sink spiderwebs ect ... loud noise coming from the kitchen which made it difficult to sleep plus VERY uncomfortable bed,would of been better off sleeping on the floor, staff didnt seem very friendly and breakfast wasent great, wont be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Just back from a well deserved 1week break. Fantastic views over the bay.Room was small but not a problem.Clean and comfortable.Lovely big bed.Staff very pleasant and helpful.Couldnt eat the cooked breakfast though as it wasnt hot and the plates were cold.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

4 of us ate in the Restaurant as non-residents on a Friday (2 are due to attend a function in October). The friendly waitress highlighted that a new Chef was piloting a fresh A La Carte menu - we weren't disappointed and will be going back! The prices were very reasonable - the food was exceptional, both in appearance and taste. There was a live singer and he was both friendly and also of high quality, without being too loud. Our waitresses enthused about the food-which they had sampled previously-as did other diners who were staying in the Hotel. Treat your taste buds with this Chef.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

i DONT KNOW HOW THEY CAN CALL THIS AN HOTEL? We expected a normal Hotel setting but we had to go down an open passageway thru a covered way across a service road up a slope (are you still with me) then up 2 flights of open metal stairs. They have obv.spent money on the inside refurbishing but it is still an old holiday camp!! When I complained and asked if we could cancel our stay I was met with a very curt No they are not interested with customers once you have paid.I tried to explain that nowhere in the advert do they mention that most of the accommodation is only accessible by being outside to the elements.I also mentioned that we are both in our 70's and was told that does not make any diff.to the rooms allocated.Staff missed out on "Customer Care" when they were training.

Room Tip: Always take your umbrella with you!! you will be in the open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Spent 2 nights at this hotel - just got back. I'm sure that we had the worst room in the hotel overlooking the bins and with the back of the kitchen just below our bathroom. The room itself was only accessible through the dining room and up a flight of quite steep stairs. However, the room was not comfortable - cleanliness left a bit to be desired - the carpet on the dressing table side of the bed did not look as if it had been vacuumed for weeks, possibly due to insufficient space! Bed was extremely lumpy. Shower looked quite nice, but you had to run around to get wet as there was only a dribble from the shower head. Breakfast was tolerable until this morning when my wife's coffee had some blue cotton floating in it! I was not asked for any feedback when we checked out of the hotel, but I will be sending some by email. I would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel

Address: Bowleaze Cove, Weymouth DT3 6PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in an Art Deco style, Some rooms are connected to the main building by covered pathways. All rooms feature free Wi-Fi, en suite bathrooms and tea/coffee making facilities, as well as a safe and fridge. All rooms are accessible from outside walkways, which you may sit along to admire the view of the bay. There is a Leisure Centre equipped with a sauna, steam room, gym and both indoor and outdoor pool. (Outdoor pool seasonal only) Which will be included in the price. Set in Bowleaze Cove the Riviera Hotel is just 2.5 Miles from the town centre. Also nearby are the Sealife Centre as well as Lodmoor nature reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riviera Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.