We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic welcoming guest house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kelston Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kelston Guest House to your Saves list
Kelston Guest House
1 Lennox St, Weymouth DT4 7HB , England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Best Price Guarantee
Ranked #6 of 161 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fantastic welcoming guest house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Having just spent a short break at Kelston guest house we would highly recommened it. The rooms are nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. Martin & Karen the hosts are so friendly and make you feel so welcome. If you are coelisc and need gluten free diet this is the place for you. Breakfast was very good and had gluten free cereal, bread and fantastic sausages.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KelstonGH, Owner at Kelston Guest House, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, it was lovely to meet you and we are glad that we made your Gluten Free breakfast easy. I hope you have enjoyed your sausages at home. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards Karen & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    16
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
68
123
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Having stayed at the Kelston recently with my 2 1/2 and 8 month old, I cannot recommend it highly enough - particularly if you have young children. The position couldn't be bettered - a 4 minute toddle to the beach but just far enough away from the town to avoid the inevitable noise and hustle and bustle - although it takes only 10 or 15 minutes to walk in to town. Our room was well set up for families and was nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. The main thing to recommend the Kelston though are its owners, Karen and Martin. They are friendly, but professional and went over and above the normal call of duty on several occasions to help me out - the children were struggling a bit in the heatwave and they scoured Dorset for a fan for me! They also had some really helpful advice about things to do in the local area - Enzo's, the Italian restaurant on the seafront was a particularly good recommendation - and made our stay as hassle-free as possible. Weymouth was as lovely as ever.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are up several flights of stairs - it might be worth asking for a lower floor if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KelstonGH, Owner at Kelston Guest House, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review, it was lovely to meet your young family and we hope to welcome you again (with hubby) in the future. Kind regards Karen & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at this B&B twice in the last two years & wouldn't go anywhere else, the place is spotless, the food is fantastic & Karen & Martin always make you feel welcome, hoping to book up with them again soon.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KelstonGH, Owner at Kelston Guest House, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your review, it was lovely to welcome you again to our guest house and we hope to welcome you both many more times in the future. Kind regards Karen & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I visited kelston guest house on Friday for an overnight stay with my partner and 11 month old baby. On arriving I couldn't believe the lovely presentation of the guest house and how thoroughly clean it was. My room was nice and spacious and cool considering weather conditions. The breakfast was fantastic couldn't ask for better and with brilliant service to go with it. I wished I could have stayed more than just one night but I will defiantly be returning in August hopefully. Thanks Karen and Martin made us feel very welcome!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KelstonGH, Owner at Kelston Guest House, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review. It was lovely to meet you and we hope to welcome you again this summer. Kind regards Karen & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Karen and Martin very friendly and helpful. Lovely Place to stay, My son loved the breakfast. Very Clean, nice comfy beds and bedding! Fridge in bedroom is a great idea! Great location from the beach and town. Cant wait to go again, Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KelstonGH, Owner at Kelston Guest House, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing our guest house, it was a pleasure to welcome you and your son, sorry we didn't have a room for you to stay longer -Next time! We look forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards Karen & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

The owners are welcoming and friendly without being smothering.
Our room was great, clean and spacious, and seemed designed for comfort rather than pure functionality.

Breakfast was the full English breakfast you hope for, and rarely get.

Great location just off the sea front made it a little quieter than others we have stayed at in Weymouth. The parking permit is a definite plus!!

We will certainly be back :-)

Note: this would not be ideal for anyone with mobility problems due to the stairs.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KelstonGH, Owner at Kelston Guest House, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our guest house, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. It was lovely to meet you and we hope to welcome you again on your next trip to Weymouth. Kind regards Karen & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Hosts were very welcoming and helpful with any problems or advice for the local services. Excellent service, breakfast was plentiful and very filling. Location was excellent, 2 minutes from the beach. I will definitely recommend to others wanting to stay in Weymouth.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KelstonGH, Owner at Kelston Guest House, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our guest house. It was lovely to meet you and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards Karen & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kelston Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelston Guest House

Address: 1 Lennox St, Weymouth DT4 7HB , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kelston Guest House is a family friendly bed and breakfast in an ideal location, less than 50 metres from Weymouth beach and just a short stroll along a level promonade to the town centre, harbour and Sea Life Centre.Our guest house offers comfortable, modern, clean and quality accommodation. All rooms have free WIFI access, Freeview TV/DVD player, mini fridge, radio clock alarm, hairdryer, ironing facilities, tea/coffee making facilities. Family rooms can sleep 4 plus a cot. We provide free of charge cot bedding, highchair, change mat and bottle steriliser. We provide own keys for 24 hour access and free parking permits are availability, subject to availability.We are proud of our Full English breakfasts, cooked to order, using mostly local produce where possible. We cater for special diets, vegetarians, vegans, Gluten Free. Early breakfasts can be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Kelston Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelston Guest House Weymouth, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kelston Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.