We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Alendale Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Alendale Guest House to your Saves list
The Alendale Guest House
4, Waterloo Place, Weymouth DT4 7NX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 161 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

just spent a long weekend at the alendale clive and lesley very good hosts, very comfortable accomadation and a lovely stay would not hesitate to book again just a stroll across the road to the beach and a few minutes to the town centre and shops and pubs. lovely breakfast to start the day.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    29
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
57
237
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We arrived on 14th May 2014, and was greeted by Clive, who took our bags from us. Once we had checked in Clive took us to our room, which was at the front of the house with a sea view. The room was very clean and fresh with a lovely window sit. Breakfast was amazing with a large selection of cereals, fresh fruit and a FULL ENGLISH made fresh to order all ingredients were locally sourced. Rooms are cleaned once a day, we were surprised when we got back from our day out to find the room as it was when we first arrived, with clean towels if needed. There are so many good things to mention, so go on make that call a book you will not de disappointed,
Thank you Clive and Lesley for making us feel welcome.

Roger and Sandra

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

just returned from yet another stay. faultless!! fab location everything super clean and breakfast is amazing!!! parking at rear which is a must. sea front right on doorstep,nice flat stroll to all the shops bars etc. will keep on returning

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Arrived at The Alendale on the 9th May for our third time here and was greeted by Clive who made us feel very welcome. Quick and easy check-in. Lovely clean Penthouse room with excellent facilities which includes off-road parking at no extra charge. Excellent location on the seafront. Breakfast was amazing. Large choice which included fresh salmon and smoked kippers if wanted. Excellent quality food from the local area expertly cooked by Lesley. Highly recommend staying here and will be visiting again.

Kev and Sophie Thomson

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Arrived late afternoon to be greeted by Clive with a cheery smile which always puts me in a relaxed mood. Our bags were taken in for us,another plus and we were given a quick introduction to the guest house and what to expect for breakfast. We were shown to our room on the third floor at the rear of the building which proved to be very quiet and comfortable. There are tea making facilities in the room with an assortment of biscuits and a couple of small chocolate bars. Saturday morning at breakfast we saw the FULL English breakfast and decided not to go for the option as we wanted to be able to move afterward. There are all options of cereals, juices and jams marmalades etc. far more than I for one was expecting. All breakfasts hot options are cooked fresh so expect a short delay its well worth the wait. Speaking to other guests it would appear that they have returned to the Alendale several times as will we be doing. Many thanks to Clive and Lesley for their friendly warm greeting and for making our short stay a pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Just returned from a stay at the Alendale run by Clive and Lesley. We have been twice before and this time was no different. Warm, welcoming and friendly hosts. Spotlessly clean. Very comfortable bed with that clean fresh bed feeling. Nice and warm duvet. Tea making facilities, biscuits and chocolates in the room. Hairdryer in room.Free car parking at the rear of the building makes life easy. Good location to go exploring. You can walk straight out of the b&b and be on the sea front and go for nice walks in either direction. Easy to go to other places like Lulworth Cove.Highly recommend staying here for a stress free break with a good breakfast which includes cereals, fruit, tea and toast and a full english and all served with a smile. See you soon. Lynn and Peter xx

Room Tip: Room 2 as a view of the sea front
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIdlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We returned to Alendale for our 4 day break and again were welcomed by Lesley and Clive, everything was excellent as before, this time we stayed in Room 2 which was a front bedroom on the first floor with a bay window with window seat , plus view of the sea, just right for the first cup of tea in the morning. Room of course was spotless and was equipped with tea tray ,biscuits , bottled water and plenty of towels. Breakfast first class and plenty of it, the breakfast marmalade is recommended. Free Parking is the bonus. Lesley and Clive are running a excellent B & B and both of us would recommend The Alendale 100% Thank you both Joy and Alan.

Room Tip: Room 2 was on the front but we didn't get any disturbance with noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Alendale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alendale Guest House

Address: 4, Waterloo Place, Weymouth DT4 7NX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alendale Guest House is a warm and comfortable Grade II listed Georgian building in the beautiful seaside holiday town of Weymouth, Dorset, situated in a terrace at the end of the esplanade. It is just across the road from the beach and a short walk to the harbour and shopping centre and the old town with its restaurants, bars and nightlife. Retaining many of its Georgian features and character, the guest house offers comfortable, fresh accommodation on a B&B basis. All the rooms have en-suite facilities and families are welcome. We pride ourselves at the Alendale on our high standard of cleanliness. In your room you will find a well supplied hospitality tray and often home made cakes. We also provide hair dryers, sewing kits and shoe cleaning kits. An iron and board can be provided on request and we can also arrange dry cleaning. The Alendale has a modern dining room that can sit 14, with views towards the beach. We have a wonderful breakfast menu and source all our produce, where possible, directly from Dorset. The menu includes a full English breakfast with a choice of selected extras, or perhaps local grilled kippers or scrambled egg and smoked salmon with toasted brioche. There is also a selection of tea, coffee and hot chocolate. You can also help yourself to our breakfast buffet which includes fruit and a range of Dorset Cereals. Special diets can be catered for with prior notice but we generally find that most vegetarians can find something suitable from the menu.Our motto is, "If we can, we will"! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Alendale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alendale Guest House Hotel Weymouth
The Alendale Guest House Weymouth, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Alendale Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.