We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A typical 3 star Shearings Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Weymouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Save
You added Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel to your Saves list
90 - 91 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7AX, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Weymouth
Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A typical 3 star Shearings Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had previously had a weekend at the Royal some 2 years ago and booked a five day stay based on being satisfied on the previous occasion. The prime location of the Hotel is it's main attraction, although finding a car parking space may prove difficult. We arrived early at 11.00am and was able to obtain a car parking permit (£10 refundable deposit required) so we were able to leave the car outside the Hotel on this occasion whilst we went into the town. We returned for the 3.00 pm booking in time to find that the key to our allocated room was missing. We were asked by the Receptionist to wait whilst other customers were booked in and were told that as they could not find the key they believed that the previous occupant had left without handing the key in. After 15 minutes a replacement key was found so were were able to enter our room. The annoying part was that the staff had not investigated the missing key earlier. However, room 419 on the 4th floor was spacious, clean and has wonderful views. The springs on the bed could be felt under our bodies but did not disturb our sleep too much. Having visited most of Shearings Hotel it seems that lots of bedrooms have the same annoying fault - wallpaper hanging off the walls - and this room was no different (Why doesn't a member of Staff have access to a tube of overlap adhesive??) We asked for an early sitting for the evening meal and were glad that we did as some people on later sittings became very agitated and angry at having to queue. We found the meals to be basic fare but acceptable, served by a very had working restaurant staff. The Public areas had been refurbished since our previous visit and are comfortable, stylish and welcoming. We did not sample any of the evening entertainment and felt that the Hotel was letting the acts down by not providing details of what to expect (or perhaps it was the artists own fault for not providing any information to the Hotel?) If we visit Weymouth again, which we have grown to love, we will still consider the Royal but will compare reviews of other Hotels in the town.

Room Tip: It is worth paying an extra £10 per day for a seaview room. Book an early evening meal slot to avoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our Hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the room and the facilities in our Hotel and the surrounding areas.
I do apologize for the inconvenience trying to find a car park space. However, the majority of our guests do not have the issue you described. In certain seasons Weymouth is popular holiday destination which is the reason why sometimes it is difficult to park in the hot spots of the town.
As you kindly mentioned in your feedback the room 419 key situation was solved shortly. The lost key as you were informed on the day arrived by post in a couple of days’ time and was handed in to you. I do apologize for the inconvenience.
I am also very proud of my restaurant team which is doing its best to make our guests holidays special.
We are hoping you will have an opportunity to return and enjoy Royal Hotel Weymouth again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    83
    64
    27
    20
See reviews for
37
121
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
swindon, england
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The hotel is very grand and alive with charm and atmosphere, so maintenance is ongoing; you can't blame them for that. The room (201 to the rear) was pleasant enough and had all you needed. The meals were reasonable considering the price we paid.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful. All in all a very enjoyable stay and we would stay there again for a similar deal.
I left my phone charger in the bedroom when we checked out; I emailed the hotel and they retrieved it from our room and offered without hesitation to post it to us at home.
I think people should realise what they are getting for their money.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear are a quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Im thrilled you enjoyed your stay and felt you had real value for money. We do strive to deliver good service and Im so glad that your phone charger found its way back to you safely. I look forward to welcoming you again on another one of our weekend deals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We have just returned from a weeks stay at The Royal Hotel in Weymouth.
We booked this break with Shearings Coach Holidays. This is the first time we have ever been on holiday with this company. Let me start at the beginning we were picked up at 8-49am there were 4 other people on the coach when it arrived after we had been on the road for about an hour i needed to spend a penny what a shock when i opened the toilet door the smell was awful the pan was full almost to the top i will leave you to imagine the rest,needless to say i just shut the door and held on until we got to the interchange. My question is when are the toilets cleaned on these coaches as this must have been like that from the previous day.We have travelled many times with Richmond Coaches and National Express Coaches and have always found the toilets to be acceptable.
Now let us tell you about the Royal Hotel well to start with it is a lovely large old building right on the sea front i imagine in its hay day it was impressive and plush now its in need of some loving restoration we were given a twin room on the third floor with a wonderful sea view which we paid extra for the beds were really comfortable with duvets which we are used to now comes the but bit!! i had to clean the shelf in the bathroom also the tops in the bedroom the white mugs and the water glasses were thick with fluff the floor in the bathroom was'nt washed at all whilst we were there and neither was the carpet hoovered the towels were changed several times which was good. As for the shower its a good thing we are both slim had we have been fat i doubt we could have got into it.
Now to say about the food i am having trouble finding words to sum it all up better i just say if its basic unappertising poorly presented bland school dinner stuff with long waits between courses you are looking for then look no further they have got it all at The Royal!!!
We have asked ourselves would we book another holiday with Shearings Coaches staying at The Royal Hotel in Weymouth and its a definate no we would'nt

Room Tip: My advice would be always ask for a sea view its worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. Our Hotel has undergone some major refurbishments which we have received very positive feedback for. I’m very pleased you enjoyed the wonderful sea view, we are very fortunate with our location on the sea front. All of our rooms and public areas are cleaned thoroughly every day, so I am extremely disappointed to hear of your experience. This has been raised with the housekeeping department and we are currently investigating it. However should any of the issues you have raised been reported during your stay they would have been rectified immediately by one of our friendly staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Upgraded premium room excellent: bar (good selection of malts), lounge & resturant good but food not good at all. Meal times were altered without prior notice. Two staff worthy of mention were Eva(reception) & Lewis(resturant manager). These two went out of their way in difficult circumstances to make us welcome & made our stay very enjoyable. If the food was improved, we could stay in the same room (114) & Eva / Lewis were there to look after us my wife & I would revisit.

Room Tip: Premium rooms are worth paying for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It is not our policy to alter any meal times with or without notice, so I cannot understand why this happened during your stay. I can only apologise for this and assure you that we are investigating the matter. All of our staff work hard to ensure our guests have the best stay possible. Thank you for comments regarding Ieva and Lewis, we have passed these onto them, I look forward to seeing you again should you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

A beautifully restored hotel from the late 19th century. Very polite staff and management. A dream hotel holiday for 18 nights when I was working on the Sailing event at the 2012 Olympic games.
Only ate breakfast in hotel, but it was compressive offering everything one could ask for.

Room Tip: Even though the rooms at the read face away from the beach, they are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank You very much for taking the time to review your stay with us and for kind comments. Our number one priority is ensuring our guests have the best stay possible and I’m so pleased that this was achieved; I’m especially pleased you found the hotel to be a “dream hotel”. I look forward to welcoming you back should you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I did'nt stay at this hotel but while i was in Weymouth for the day last Sunday i called in for some lunch. The service i received from a lady on duty in the bar was superb. Unfortunately i can't remember here name.She was so friendly and chatty and she made me feel like a valued customer. This lady is a real asset to the hotel.

The bar was very pleasant and the windows were open with a lovely breeze coming through especially as it was a very warm day. The views out over Weymouth bay were superb. I opted for the Burger option which came with fries and a fresh salad. The portions were massive!! The food was served fresh and hot. I really enjoyed every bit.

After receiving such great service from just calling in for some lunch, i would certainly like to stay at The Royal the next time i am in Weymouth.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thankyou so much for your kind comments. Im thrilled that you enjoyed your lunch here and would consider staying here next time you are in Weymouth. Or even if you dont have the time to stay I do recommend popping in for one of our cream teas. I look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Not a good start when the first thing you see in reception is a sign you can upgrade your room,basically it's saying you've got a crap room if you don't pay extra. To start with my room 309 was shabby but clean and in desperate need of a refurb. However the room didn't get hoovered for a whole week. Also there was a massive boulge in the ceiling when there must of been a flood on the floor above. On the other hand, we had great views from our windows and the hotel is probably in the best location you could ask for. What i found most annoying about the room was the TV. I could only get bbc1 and bbc2. I had to stare at a picture of a kitchen on itv and a picture of 2 fillets of cod on channel 4 ,for the whole week. Lastly the beds were quite uncomfortable as you could feel the springs. However you could tell they have done up the public areas of the hotel for the Olympics. The food was alright but very basic. I thought the breakfast was very nice. I thought the waiters and waitresses were very hardworking unlike the restaurant manager who didn't do anything. Also they seemed confused about how ordering the drinks worked. I liked the games room that had a snooker table. The hotel had 2 lifts i preferred the old fashioned lift with the two gates, like the one in the Titanic.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. I completely agree that we are in an excellent location with great views. I can only apologise for the television in your room, this has been rectified. Our restaurant staff have now received additional training regarding drinks ordering. I look forward to seeing you again should you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel

Address: 90 - 91 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7AX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal is an impressive building of intricate architecture built in the ‘Free Renaissance’ style and boasting fantastic views over the beach and bay. Only a short stroll to the shops, seaside attractions and the famously beautiful harbour and marina, the location could not be better for exploring all that Weymouth has to offer. Despite its imposing structure, the Royal is enjoyed for its warm and friendly atmosphere. The hotel benefits from a games room and comfortable lounges in which to enjoy the entertainment. During the day you also have the option to relax in the public bar whilst you admire the views overlooking the bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Weymouth
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.