We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good holliday was had by all” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairhaven Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Fairhaven Hotel to your Saves list
The Fairhaven Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8DH , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Weymouth
wales
1 review
“very good holliday was had by all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

just had a holl in your hotel with my parents it was just the place wich they loved the staff were all very nice the food excelant the rooms were clean & it was great haveing clean white towels every day all the aminities were close to hand we did have a bit of noise at night but i supose is to be expected as right on sea front , but it was the perfect holliday for us as a family the weather made it even better.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    42
    49
    16
    31
See reviews for
34
55
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wolverhampton
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

We where impressed by the friendliness of the staff,and the exerlent standard of service
The room was a good sized room, very comfortable and was cleaned ever day. we had an super sea view from comfortable chairs in the room.
All the staff in the reception, dinning room and room service where extremely pleasent
and very efficient.The food was of a high standard and there was plenty of choice on the menu.
When visiting Weymouth again we shall certainly be staying at the FAIRHAVEN HOTEL

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

THANK YOU!. Our male voice choir stayed at this hotel for four nights. The largely spanish staff were extremely pleasant, attentive, efficient and good humoured. Though an old hotel combining several buildings, the rooms were well maintained every day - again by a pleasant service staff.
The only criticism is that the bar was poorly stocked as were many bars in Weymouth itself.
Again, thank you to the Fairhaven staff and management.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

We are a tour operator who uses the Fairhaven on a frequent basis and I can honestly say that having accommodated many groups here we rarely get any adverse feedback due to the professional way this hotel is run.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

I have been a regular visitor to The Fairhaven for more than 16 years, originally as a family with a young son and more recently just with my husband. We have had the most wonderful time on every occasion. All the staff are friendly and helpful, even remembering all of our names as soon as we arrive. The bedrooms are 'traditional', but, consistently spotlessly clean and very comfortable, with much more character than these sterile modern places!

I do have to compalin about the food - far too much delicious fayre and a good choice for every course .... I put on pounds!!! Again, it is nice to have waiter service at all meals, so much more of a treat than helping yourself from the monotonous buffet, which seems to be then trend in most hotels these days.

We have already arranged our next visit to Weymouth, which will of course be spent at The Fairhaven.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

I went to the Fairhaven for a 2 day break with my daughter of 15 years and my sister and nephew of 13 years. The accomodation is not great and it was full of elderly people.When my daughter went to her room i followed to check on her and found her being harassed by an elderly gentleman grabbing her and trying to take her in the lift with him .I reported this to the hotel reception (it was 10.30pm) who were most unhelpful and did not care that my daughter had been scared out of her wits!!
He is apparently resident there and his carer was out !!!!!
The people at this hotel are very rude and i am still waiting for them to acknowledge my complaint.
If you like tatty old fashioned furniture ,unfriendly unhelpful staff and people in charge stinking of alcohol then this is the place for you , if not i would steer well clear and be advised that the kings hotel group own this hotel so maybe the others in the group are of the same quality?

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne75, owner at The Fairhaven Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2009
I would like to explain the circumstances that led to the review "Do Not Go Here!!!". The ladies booked in with two children who were minors and as it was our busiest time of the year (Carnival Week) and we did not have adjoining rooms to offer we requested that the ladies use the twin rooms with an adult and a child in each one as is our policy. The ladies refused to do this and the children, a boy of 13 and a girl of 15, were therefore allocated a room together. The only rooms we had were one on the second floor and one on the third floor so the children were even on a different floor to adults. I am so sorry the gentleman frightened the child but he was also a guest who was staying with us for just four nights and was booked in with his carer. Once the ladies explained what had happened we ordered them a taxi and they spent the night in one of our other hotels. It was a most regrettable incident but the blame here lies with the carer who was clearly absent when this gentleman approached the child but I can assure you he was harmless and did not mean to alarm the child. Once we had been alerted to the complaint I feel the Assistant Manager did all he could to find the ladies alternative accommodation for two rooms during the busiest week of the year. I am also in communication with the complainant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkeston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

I've been going to this hotel for years, first with young children and now with husband. I love it there and can't wait to go back. The food is fab especially the home made pies and sponges. Rooms are comfy and the location is superb.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairhaven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairhaven Hotel

Address: 37 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8DH , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Fairhaven Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Fairhaven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairhaven Hotel Weymouth
The Fairhaven Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairhaven Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.