We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay as always” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Redcliff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Redcliff to your Saves list
The Redcliff
18/19 Brunswick Terrace, Weymouth DT4 7RW, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 161 Weymouth B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“great stay as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

stayed at the redcliff as we always do with rob and linda although linda was away this time rob managed very well on his own. our welcome was great as always.our bank holiday weekend was great.breakfast was really nice so much to choose from and as much tea,coffee and toast as you like.our room was overlooking the sea,it's so nice to wake after a good nights sleep to the sound of the sea.very clean room with shower and toilet plenty of space and always plenty of tea and coffee in the room.always the place yo stay hope to be back soon. -jackie & colin-

Room Tip: try for a sea view if you can,great view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRedcliff, Owner at The Redcliff, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you for the review. Sorry I missed you this visit, I now have two lovely grandsons!

Im glad to hear Rob did a great job while I was away, its all in the training you know :-)

Hope to see you again next time you stay.

Best Wishes
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    21
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
40
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My partner and I stayed 3 nights here in August. We found the location perfect, just across the road from the beach, and at the quieter end of the bay. The room (6) was a good size and nicely decorated and clean with superb views. Lots of stairs to the room may be difficult for some. The staff were friendly and helpful.

All facilities were excellent, tea and coffee and hairdryer supplied. The breakfasts were excellent and the hosts very friendly and welcoming. Parking was ok, considering how difficult it is to park in Weymouth, we counted ourselves lucky to have a place to park.

Only one complaint, the mattress on the bed was very hard and lumpy, and spoilt what would otherwise be a 5 star B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRedcliff, Owner at The Redcliff, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for the lovely review, we are so glad you had a good time at The Redcliffweymouth.

We are so sorry that the bed was uncomfortable, we had not realised. We have now changed the mattress.

We hope to see you again soon,

Best wishes
Linda and Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Last minute trip to Weymouth to see the Olympic sailing. We chose room 14 (attic room) and were delighted, a sweet room with wonderful views. Sitting on one of the high stools thoughtfully positiioned at the window, coffee and biscuit in hand was the place to be! Linda and Rob were welcoming, helpful and friendly. A really super seaside B & B.

Room Tip: Room 14 is in the attic, accessed by steep winding stairs. Not for the faint hearted!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRedcliff, Owner at The Redcliff, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for the lovely review, we are so glad you had a good time at The Redcliffweymouth.

We are so sorry that the bed was uncomfortable, we had not realised. We have now changed the mattress.

We hope to see you again soon,

Best wishes
Linda and Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Booked for a weekend in weymouth, we found the redcliff tucked away at one end of the long, curving prom, at the other end from the harbour. With only a couple of rooms left, we selected the top most room (14), which was described as being accessable via a steep staircase. A very good description and best tackled with small cases only, as you would struggle on the steep, winding staircase, without a sherpa Tensing to help with the climb. Both propriators were very friendly and amiable, showing us the carpark and being onhand for breakfast, from which you could choose a full english or continental. Athough the room was in need of a bit of TLC, we both enjoyed our weekend away, which the terrible weather on the Saturday tried hard to spoil, but didn't.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiroshima, Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Rob and Linda are very friendly. 5/5.
My daughter playes piano - zack, there was a piano.
I needed urgently clean clothes - zack, they were done
(while they are normaly not done).

Breakfast: 5/5. Typical english.

My daughter liked Rob. He is a nice fellow.

And the room ... not really the best, but all in all ... I definitely would come back. Sorry: WE would come back ... .-)

Love


K&K

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

A lovely B&B set in a quiet location with its very own sea front, Rob and Linda made us feel very welcome and made a fuss of our 3 yr old daughter, they made us feel right at home! rooms were clean and comfortable, basic but exeptional value for the money.
The breakfasts were fanatastic, with a full range of English breakfasts, porridge, kippers and a selection of juices and cereal.
Its a stones throw away from a pebble beach with huts,.(very charming) and a short 5-10 minute walk to the main beach resort/harbour area, this was an ideal location for us as it was away from the busier end was nice and quiet so sleeping was not a problem.
But a nice walk to tire out and duracell toddler! ha ha.
We had good weather apart from one day and Rob and Linda were full of help and infomation of what to do on a rainy day. If we do visit weymouth again then we will be staying here again for sure! Many Thanks!! Enjoy your summer!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Not much more we could have asked with this B and B it was in a superb location right opposite the beach and close to attractions, town centre and train station. The twin room we stayed in was lovely with comfortable beds and a huge ensuite which was great value for money.

Had one issue with the maid putting back a pillow that I had placed in the wardrobe as it contained duck down which I am allergic to but as I did not advise them of my allergy I cannot blame them

The only letdown for the room was that the wireless internet signal wasn't strong enough in there but was accessible from the lounge and the staff did advise they were having issues which may have been the cause of the problem.

There was lot of choice for breakfast and the staff were very accommodating to our needs.

Will definitely recommended the place to others and hope to return there myself

Room Tip: Our room was No 2 with 1 dbl and 1 single bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Redcliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redcliff

Address: 18/19 Brunswick Terrace, Weymouth DT4 7RW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Redcliff is a Georgian House situated across a quiet cul de sac a few paces from the beach. We have 12 bedrooms, from singles, twin, doubles and family rooms, most being en suite. Seven have fantastic sea views from Lulworth Cove to Portland Bill. The cosy dining room and lounge also have wonderful sea views across the bay. We serve a hearty traditional English Breakfast, cereal juices and fresh fruit. We have special breaks running throughout the year, and always offer a warm, friendly and helpful welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Redcliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Redcliff Weymouth, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Redcliff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.