We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food excellent staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Handmade Pie & Ale House

The Handmade Pie & Ale House
2 Queen Street | Weymouth, Weymouth DT4 7HZ, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 212 Restaurants in Weymouth
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Vegetarian, British, Gastropub, Chicken Wings
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: We, at National British Pie Award winning Handmade Pie & Ale House are setting out to create the most premium of pies and to serve the most traditional, tastiest constantly changing ales, of which we always have some local and some from various parts of the country. We now have up to six to choose from and you are always welcome to have a FREE try before you buy!! We are proud to have our beautifully renovated old restaurant / bar where you can sit, enjoy and take in the charming surroundings whilst being looked after by our lovely caring staff and you can eat drink and be merry. Our pies are lovingly made by us, by hand, in our open-plan pie kitchen (where you can also see them being made!) With our homemade pastry and homemade fillings, no two pies are ever the same. We are constantly making our pies fresh from a selection of over 38 different flavours - we even make our own low calorie 'smart pies' and of course several vegetarian options. Also, if for some reason you don't fancy one of our multi award winning pies, we even have a NON PIE menu, which, believe it or not is called the 'We Don't Just Do Pies' menu! This has an ever changing variety of good old home cooking favourites and specialty boards, such as a meat & cheese sharer, our own crispy chicken wings, our own homemade gooey Brie Wedges in Panko breadcrumbs and 1/2 a rotisserie chicken on a board! Plus good old proper relaxing Sunday lunches, with roast leg of lamb, aged Scottish beef, stuffed rolled crispy belly pork etc. Not hungry? Alternatively, if you prefer just come and enjoy a drink in our beautiful bar and just have a good old piece of free hospitality on the side.......
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food excellent staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Steak & Ale Pie was really tasty. Nice crispy chips.Portions not huge but adequate. Waitress Sarah always smiling. Will definitely return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    121
    22
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Reviews over egged the experienced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The atmosphere was more pub like than bistro/bar, Staff were excellent but food was uninspiring and average value for money, good selection of beers and wines available.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“After two visits!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

After two visits to ensure the quality was as good as we thought the first time we came to the conclusion that steak in peppercorn pie is not as good as the steak in stilton. Having said that the steak in stilton is an outstanding pie whereas the steak in peppercorn is simply a good pie. Good pies, good atmosphere and friendly staff. We were served by the lovely Dawn.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed dinners”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

After raving to our friends, what a good experience we had on our first visit. We persuaded them to join us for a celebratory dinner on the occasion of my wives birthday. When we arrived our table was ready (a good start), but when we attempted to order, the server informed us all the pies on the menu containing beef were unavailable. As four out of the six of us were keen to have a meat pie, we decided our best course of action was to dine else where. It was like going to a fish and chip shop and being told they had run out of fish. A shame, but I would not recommend this place to others.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Could be so much better...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

A lot of the pies on the 'Today's menu' were not available. Seemingly total lack of proper communication between front of house and the kitchen. The waitress was consistently on the telephone to the kitchen to find out what pies where available in front of diners waiting to place orders. When I was there a table of six decided to leave after their pies of choice were not available.

The pastry chef needs a lesson in how to cook a pie, my pie was undercooked, the crust was raw pastry. The chef was asked to come and discuss the problem, but seemingly was not really interested and disagreed with my observation. I was offered a free drink in compensation.

I won't be going again. It's a shame because they have obviously have spent a good deal of money on the refurbishment of the premises and the technology in front of house, which seemingly is not working as when I went to pay my bill was already paid!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Handmade Pie & Ale House also viewed

 
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Been to The Handmade Pie & Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Handmade Pie & Ale House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.