We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Handmade Pie & Ale House

The Handmade Pie & Ale House
2 Queen Street (Just Behind the Clock on the Esplanade) | Weymouth, Weymouth DT4 7HZ, England
+44 1305 459342
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 22 Coffee & Tea in Weymouth
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: English, British, Vegetarian, Chicken Wings
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Quick Bites, Coffee & Tea, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: We, at National British Pie Award winning Handmade Pie & Ale House are setting out to create the most premium of pies and to serve the most traditional, tastiest constantly changing ales, of which we always have some local and some from various parts of the country. We now have up to six to choose from and you are always welcome to have a FREE try before you buy!! We are proud to have our beautifully renovated old restaurant / bar where you can sit, enjoy and take in the charming surroundings whilst being looked after by our lovely caring staff and you can eat drink and be merry. Our pies are lovingly made by us, by hand, in our open-plan pie kitchen (where you can also see them being made!) With our homemade pastry and homemade fillings, no two pies are ever the same. We are constantly making our pies fresh from a selection of over 38 different flavours - we even make our own low calorie 'smart pies' and of course several vegetarian options. Also, if for some reason you don't fancy one of our multi award winning pies, we even have a NON PIE menu, which, believe it or not is called the 'We Don't Just Do Pies' menu! This has an ever changing variety of good old home cooking favourites and specialty boards, such as a meat & cheese sharer, our own crispy chicken wings, our own homemade gooey Brie Wedges in Panko breadcrumbs and 1/2 a rotisserie chicken on a board! Plus good old proper relaxing Sunday lunches, with roast leg of lamb, aged Scottish beef, stuffed rolled crispy belly pork etc. Not hungry? Alternatively, if you prefer just come and enjoy a drink in our beautiful bar and just have a good old piece of free hospitality on the side.......
1 review
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Lovely food and atmosphere. Not such great service, waitresses rude on occasions. We made no complaints as nothing else could be faulted! Would certainly visit again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    445
    164
    28
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“above and beyond our expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The welcome as we arrived, the service, the food and atmosphere were all fab! You think pie and think your going to be absolutely stuffed, but the portions were just right, the pie a really good size, and so tasty. Would definitely visit again!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Irresistible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We loved the easy nonchalant atmosphere of this restaurant. Great starters, divine pies and ale. And I've never tasted ginger ice-cream. A real treat! The location is good too, just opposite the station, five minutes from the Jubilee clock. If you're in for nourishing authentic cuisine do choose the Handmade Pie and Ale House.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Lives up to the hype”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Really didn't know what to expect from his place. Had heard lots about it and it was all good. Best analogy I can give for my first impressions is that of watching a film that everyone else says is brilliant and then feeling a bit let down by it, because it's been over-hyped. If I'm honest this is how my evening started, the place was packed with people and was obviously understaffed, it was impossible to move and equally as hard to get served. I began to think that this was not the place for me. However, once the madding crowds had cleared to the upstairs eating area I began to realise why this place is so popular. It is a strange mixture of a bar and an eatery but I have to say (assuming you like pies!) that the food was really quite excellent, as was the ale. As I've said on many occasions, eating out is about far more than the food, good staff are an absolute prerequisite for an enjoyable evening. Top marks then to the delightful young blond lady who kept her head in the mad spell and seemed determined to make sure we have a good evening. As a postscript may I just say, go to the loo when you are here! Rarely have I ever seen such high spec loos anywhere! $64000 question, would I go back? Oh yes. My only concern would be that this place doesn't become a victim of it's own success and allow standards to drop because it becomes so busy. Hopefully this won't happen.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Pies & Ales!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We were going to Weymouth for a break & wanted to have a couple of places in mind to go & eat. When looking on TripAdvisor this grabbed my husband's attention immediately! We went on Monday and found it to be well worth the visit. The Pie & Ale House is away from the beach & harbour area and is by the station, it has a nice relaxed atmosphere.There is a good selection of pies, something for everyone, we both had steak & ale pie with mash & peas. The pies had lovely pastry & a very generous filling, the mash was also very good. We received very good service from Lisa who answered all our questions about the pies & ales with knowledge & a smile.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Handmade Pie & Ale House also viewed

 
Weymouth, Dorset
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Been to The Handmade Pie & Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Handmade Pie & Ale House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.