We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, Good drink.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Handmade Pie & Ale House

The Handmade Pie & Ale House
2 Queen Street | DT4 7HZ, Weymouth DT4 7HZ, England
+44 1305 459342
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 205 restaurants in Weymouth
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Vegetarian, British, Gastropub, Chicken Wings
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We, at National British Pie Award winning Handmade Pie & Ale House are setting out to create the most premium of pies and to serve the most traditional, tastiest constantly changing ales of which we now have up to six to choose from and you are always welcome to have a FREE try before you buy!! We are proud to have our beautifully renovated old restaurant / bar where you can sit, enjoy and take in the charming surroundings and get looked after by our lovely caring staff whilst you eat drink and be merry. Our pies are lovingly made by us, by hand, in our open-plan pie kitchen (where you can also see them being made!) With homemade pastry and homemade fillings no two pies are ever the same. We are making our pies fresh constantly from a selection of over 38 different flavours - we even make our own low calorie 'smart pies' and of course several vegetarian options. Also, if for some reason you don't fancy one of our multi award winning pies, we even have a NON PIE menu, which, believe it or not is called the 'We Don't Just Do Pies' menu! This has an ever changing variety of good old home cooking favourites and specialty boards, such as a meat & cheese sharer, our own crispy chicken wings, our own homemade gooey brie wedges in panko breadcrumbs and 1/2 a rotisserie chicken on a board! Plus good old proper relaxing Sunday lunches, with roast leg of lamb, aged Scottish beef, stuffed rolled crispy belly pork etc. Not hungry? Alternatively, if you prefer just come and enjoy a relaxing drink in our beautiful bar and just have a good old piece of free hospitality on the side.......
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food, Good drink.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Great Pies, good food, Nice Ales. I would advise booking as this place gets busy any time of the week, we were able to get a table but only just. Definitely book if you have more than 2 people dining.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    256
    78
    13
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good hearty food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

My pie was great, boyfriend's was ok. But great mash and gravy. Really good hearty tasty place. Must try.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Nice setting, fresh food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Lovely interior in the restaurant & a large bar, orders were taken at the table, I do have the say i feel the stools are a bit low for the table for eating at or maybe I'm too short. We ordered various pies, chips are nice although I did have a fair few small crispy ones (dregs). Pies look small & flattish but lots of filling my steak & ale was lovely, gravy was nice & subtle flavour & mushy peas were very nice. Reasonably priced, some friends did say how terrible the toilets smelt, "they stink of p*ss". So I recommend they look at the drains or just give them a good clean. Otherwise nice will return at some point.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony B, Owner at The Handmade Pie & Ale House, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Hello there ktnanci. We are very pleased to note that you love our interior, a lot of thought has gone into it and it's always very comforting when someone such as yourself recognises that. In respect of the various pies you ordered it's great to see that you considered them to have lots of filling with a lovely flavour and you also enjoyed our homemade grandmothers gravy with mushy peas too! You mentioned the toilets, although we only opened just eight months ago after an extensive refurbishment, our lovely building is actually around 160 years old (apparently used for stabling for the horses of the Gentry holidaying here in Weymouth before the railway station arrived!) and currently we still have a small and outdated waste system. Now, due to our place being far busier than it has ever previously been this was identified as causing an intermittent problem and is currently undergoing repair, I can assure you it has nothing to do with the cleaning. Thank you for your review and it's great to see that you'll be returning. Take care, from the National British Pie award winning HMP&AH Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unique place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Went here Sat eve having pre-booked for a table of 18. The pies are truly scrummy (I had the Aussie steak) but the service was slow & confusing. Worth a visit tho for the pies :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony B, Owner at The Handmade Pie & Ale House, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Hi Ilovemisspiggy..! Thank you for considering us as a 'unique place', being a totally independent and family owned restaurant we like to think we are unique in many ways and a far cry from the 'run of the mill' chain restaurants. It's also lovely to see your 'truly scrummy' quote in respect of our pies! After all, they are our flagship and we are now the proud owners of an award at the recent National British Pie awards (of which there were 983 entrants) so I guess we must be doing something right? I see you mentioned the service was slow for your table of 18 on a busy Saturday evening. As you were a table of 18 I'm guessing you would have dined in our beautiful upstairs restaurant and you would have seen our open kitchen which measures about 10' x 10', with Saturday being by far our busiest day and in particular, the evening, with many large tables in (such as your own) service of a quality product in a short time can be challenging and I do apologise for any delay. On the lesser busy times service is likely to be quicker but (as quoted on our menu) we are not a 'fast food' restaurant and should you be ordering pies they will take a minimum of 20 minutes due to the fact that upon ordering each and every one is individually baked freshly just for you. Hope to see you soon for more 'PieSustenance' !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset - UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Would be 5* if drinks were quicker”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Beautifully revamped building, and food first class. Minimal choice,but enough. We (10) all had pies and they were delicious. Two complaints. One, you need to be an acrobat to get through the ridiculous ladies loo doors and two, the drinks took FOREVER. 20 mins to get the first bottle of wine. They took so long we didn't even open one of the bottles. Sort this out people and you'll sell more.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Handmade Pie & Ale House also viewed

 

Been to The Handmade Pie & Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Handmade Pie & Ale House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.