We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WooHoo - pie night is back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springhead

The Springhead
Sutton Road, | Sutton Poyntz, Preston,, Weymouth, England
01305-83-21-17
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #100 of 212 Restaurants in Weymouth
Price range: $8 - $22
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The Springhead Pub and Restaurant is located at the heart of the small Dorset village of Sutton Poyntz. Quietly tucked away beneath the chalk downs, the village has a unique beauty which awaits discovery, a mile from the World Heritage Jurassic Coast, and only 3 miles north-west of Weymouth town centre.
Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“WooHoo - pie night is back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Love the setting, ambiance, well-served beer, friendly staff, and good pub grub! The pies (now Monday night is pie night) are superb! Ask for a spoon to get the last drop of gravy from the steak pie!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    46
    28
    25
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Just had another great meal at the Springhead. Sunday roast with a choice of starters and a very good carvery even a choice of rare all well done beef. Some of the recent reviews are unfair as this is a village pub in Dorset and life does run a little bit slower. In all of the meals that we have had, all are to a good standard.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great food and great beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We were a party of 8 on the rainy Tuesday after the late may bank holiday. Luckily they had space as we were a little desperate after a long day in the rain. The food was fantastic. I had a fish pie and expected the usual pub microwave offer but was delighted to find a real homemade pie. Other people in our party had similar food.

Don't understand other poor food comments on here. Chef must have been on holiday

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Went for lunch with my husband who had a burger and he said it was one of the best burgers he had ever had,was a huge platefull and the chips were lovely. I had the chowder and it was very tasty, loads of different fish in it and a warm bread roll. We were tempted by dessert as well which was excellent and we were full for the rest of the day as the portions are so large! Can't imagine why other people gave such a poor review.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sunday carvery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Have been coming to Weymouth once a month for a few years and have eaten in most pubs but the Springhead never disappoints good food and friendly service. Thanks very much a pub that still feels like a local, with decent food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Springhead also viewed

 

Been to The Springhead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springhead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.