We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing else to say!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Rex to your Saves list
Hotel Rex
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8DN, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Nothing else to say!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

we stay here each year, its almost like a 2nd home to me now. this might be bias, but the hotel and staff are amazing they help us out with anything and everything, one even walked to tesco as i didnt know where it was as my nan is diabetic and needed a drink (sugar free) each yeah it just gets better and better, we book a year in advance with room 3 with a balcony view! wow, staff are all so friendly and helpful and nothing is too much of a hassle! couldnt fault them at all!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    95
    39
    11
    7
See reviews for
35
119
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The hotel from the outside looks like it could have a bit of a facelift as the 'H' is missing on the word Hotel...HOWEVER when you enter into the hotel you are greeted by a lovely large clean reception area, a bar with its own seating area, a TV viewing area and a sweeping staircase with a fully stocked information area.

We stayed in the only room with a four-poster bed. It was devine; very spacious and clean. It was fully equipped with dressing gowns, plenty of towels, toiletries and included a jucuzzi, a balcony and beautiful sea views.

The manager, John, was extremely accommodating and no request was too much. He was very approachable, pleasant and professional as were the other staff whom we came into contact with.

We would completely recommend this hotel.

Thank you

Room Tip: Room 4 was luxurious with a four poster bed, large bathroom with Jacuzzi and sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

I chose the Otel Rex based purely on Trip Advisor reviews, what a mistake to make!
Firstly the hotel is well located right on the sea front within a short walk of the decent harbour area. Car parking is a nightmare. You have to book in advance to get a space otherwise you are stuck in the expensive public carpark nearby. There is nowhere to pull up at the front of the hotel so if you are on your own, you are stuffed.
Reception was good, efficient and polite. Despite this the whole downstairs area is tired and well worn. This is indicative of the rest of the hotel. The whole place looked dirty and need of redecoration.
Our room was awful and not worth the £80 price in anyway. It was tiny and should have had a single bed not a double. The walls were all marked and dented. The carpet was stained and dirty. The bed was uncomfortable but the sheets were clean. The bathroom was a sight to behold. You could easily sit on the loo, brush your teeth and have a shower at the same
time.
The worst part however was at night. You could hear everything. Doors slamming throughout the hotel, toilets flushing, people shouting and creaking floorboards everywhere. The window wouldn't close properly and right through til 4am we were kept awake by screaming chavs and loud music from the nearby pubs and clubs.
Breakfast was average and very greasy. The sausage was a cheap 'Walls' type, no beans and a poor buffet selection.
On the whole this hotel does not live up to its previous TA reviews and is certainly not worthy of its 3 stars. The Otel Rex is a 2 star at a push.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne75, Manager at Hotel Rex, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
I am sorry that your experience did not live up to your expectations, and wish you had brought your grievances to our attention during your time here and given us a chance to remedy the situation.

However, stating that the hotel is dirty and not worthy of our 3 star staus is completely unfounded, and this is reflected in our AA and Visit England inspections, as well as our previous Trip Advisor reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed in may, the room was lovely and big with a very large bathroom. Very clean throughout. The staff were wonderful and very helpful. The food was top class. Prime location. Will most defiantly stay again. Only thing I would say and it's nothing to do with the hotel, but be careful parking, wardens are very hot round here. The hotel do provide a pass so make sure you get in your window quick!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

we had driven 6 hours and it was a very cold day the wind was blowing a gale but we were greeted by two lovely young ladies on recepetion and nothing was a problem we were given a private parking spot which was a great help as it was very busy on the seafront we had what was classed as the honey moon suite very roomy but very cold so they brought us 2 heaters which helped bar staff friendly good breakfast i would stay there again but only in the suite as the other rooms we looked at were very basic and dated we are going back to weymouth in july unfortunatly the suite is booked so we are looking for another hotel on the seafront

Room Tip: front honey moonsuite very comfortable and in the summer with the two large windows it must be a lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The hotel is in a brilliant position on the seafront. However parking might be a problem but a short walk will access public carparks - we were on a coach trip. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are a bit quirky, some sloping floors and odd shapes, but having been built in 1795 this is not surprising. They very clean and relatively modern. There is a lift to all floors. The food was excellent with a good menu choice. Drinks were about average bar prices.
This hotel makes a good base for exploring the superb, surrounding countryside.

Room Tip: Try to get on the top floor for excellent sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I had just driven for over 3 hours on totally unfamiliar roads and was greeted by a rude, sarcastic and frosty receptionist who was 'busy' in an empty bar and told me I would "have to wait a few minutes". When she decided to deal with my arrival she continued to be unpleasant and unhelpful - her priority being to demand the £20 deposit for my car park permit. Whilst her persona changed soon after into 'Mrs sweetness and light', I couldn't accept any pleasantries from her as there was no excuse for the 'greeting' I received. This was compounded by my over-hearing a conversation between her and another member of staff about me and my husband. They assumed we had both gone up the stairs but I hadn't and was actually browsing the leaflets and heard what they said. Totally unprofessional and RUDE!
That said, I have no further complaints, though I hope the manager attends to my feedback here as it could well lose him custom in the future. Apart from this member of staff and the one who made comments about my husband, I have no other major negatives. Unfortunately, the arrival experience tainted our overall enjoyment of this hotel and we didn't feel as relaxed as we should have.
The room was slightly small, but very clean. No wifi in rooms (as advertised) but it worked OK downstairs. Breakfast was extremely good and the staff in the dining room were excellent - courteous and efficient.
The hotel is right on the 'front' and I had no problems getting a parking space but as other reviewers have said - this won't be the case in future weekends and throughout summer.

Room Tip: floor boards are a bit creaky so if this bothers you go for a third floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Address: 29 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8DN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rex 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rex Weymouth, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.