We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, helpful owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oaklands Edwardian Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weymouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oaklands Edwardian Guesthouse
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1 Glendinning Avenue, Weymouth DT4 7QF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 157 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Aberystwyth, Wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly, helpful owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2008

Fascinating house; large, comfortable room; excellent, generous breakfasts with several choices and best of all a really warm and friendly welcome. A pleasant, relaxed atmosphere and the owners go out of their way to be helpful. The location was perfect for us too - within easy walking distance from the town centre and harbour, but in a quiet residential area. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    2
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2007

Jennie and Mike are in their first season with this hotel. It was both friendly and informal, which is what I liked. They went out of their way to be helpful. It was very well maintained and all staff were friendly. Great breakfast, don't go on a full stomach, it will take me a week to get all of the weight off.

I would certainly return if I am ever back in Weymouth.

Jan Merritt

  • Liked — The general atmosphere
  • Disliked — There wasn't one
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2005

Very clean and Tidy. Extremely helpful people. Excellent food.
Highly recommended for everyone including wheelchair users.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2005

We stayed here a few weeks ago for a long weekend with my parents. I have just read one of the other reviews and cannot understand how anyone could think the house was anything other than beautiful! Both of our rooms were very tastefully decorated and a refreshing change from the standard floral patterns.

When we arrived we were greeted with a cup of tea and made to feel very welcome. The disabled facilities were excellent - much better than the average - and the hosts were very friendly and helpful. The location was pretty good too I thought. It was about 5 minutes from the seafront and although it was 15 mins walk into town, there were plenty of places nearby to eat. The taxis were quite cheap too.

If you want somewhere nice to eat out that is wheelchair friendly, try Floods on the harbour. Mainly fish but very good. Also Marlborough fish and chips by the town bridge were lovely!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2005

We stayed at Oaklands for a short break in the autumn of 2004 and it was the first time we had ever been to Weymouth.

The house was beautiful and spotlessly clean. The beds were comfy and we slept better than we do at home! With hindsight, I'm glad we didn't stay on the seafront because it was very noisy there and Oaklands was so peaceful (except for the seagulls). We were also able to park our car without any hassles which we found was a major benefit in Weymouth.

The owners were very friendly and helpful and suggested some good places to eat and things to see. We would definitely recommend the Roundhouse restaurant by the Pavilion Theatre - the food is fabulous and quite reasonably priced.

We loved our break in Weymouth it was just a shame it was so short. We will certainly be back though.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oaklands Edwardian Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaklands Edwardian Guesthouse

Address: 1 Glendinning Avenue, Weymouth DT4 7QF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaklands Edwardian Guesthouse 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a range of double, twin and family rooms, as well as a ground floor accessible room. Rooms are spacious, with en suite shower rooms or a private shower room adjacent to the bedroom. Off-street parking space for each room. 10 minutes from town and beach. Totally non-smoking. Special diets catered for. 4 Stars. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oaklands Edwardian Guesthouse Weymouth, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaklands Edwardian Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Oaklands Edwardian Guesthouse to your Saves list