We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still as good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Nothe Tavern

The Nothe Tavern
Barrack Road, Weymouth DT4 8TZ, England
+44 1305 839255
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 212 Restaurants in Weymouth
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Still as good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Visited last year on holiday and returned there again this year (just back from hols now).

Went on a Sunday. Mum had the carvery. Meat was like a doorstop and they were determined to get her to pile her plate high (apparently!). I had the burger which although tasty was a little dry but I feel this is perhaps due to the bun. It was no big thing as it was not inedible and we had a lovely evening. My brothers meal looked good quality too. Great location and we were seated at the far end of the restaurant despite it being very busy so were able to see the sea.

Staff, as always, very helpful and friendly. Visited again the next day just for evening drinks and staff were still cheery and service has been excellent throughout.

Cannot praise this place enough. They have it sussed, you've got to hand it to them.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    82
    16
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sunday at the nothe tavern”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Sunday lunch was busy but food was excellent with varied choice of meat (3) and lots of different veg. Ate far too much but the walks along the top are spectacular to walk off the overindulgence. A peaceful and historic part of Weymouth for all the family. Look out for friendly squirrels in the pine trees along the walkways and rock pool finds along the beach.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Relaxing and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stopped off here for lunch and a bottle of wine. Quality food , nice wine, friendly customer service and good value . Recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Quality and Quantity, can you want more?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Our party of Severn went for Sunday lunch.

Although we arrived early this was no problem and our table was made available.

Drinks and food were ordered at the table and all appeared promptly. A number of the party had the carvery lunch and of course we had to choose our own. each plate had a small mountain of meat and the vegetables were all well cooked. A couple of the party chose fish and both were well satisfied with the portions delivered to the table.

There were a couple of ales at the bar. I had the Hobgoblin, one of the best pints of this ale that I've had.

A couple of the younger members of our party decided to have a dessert. Again excellent sized portions were delivered promptly to the table.

All in all a very good experience with good table service throughout.

I would definitely recommend this pub. It's not very large so I would recommend booking ahead.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Called in Saturday lunchtime, staff were very friendly and enjoyed the braised steak in red wine, very nice, followed by rocky road cheese cake, really big portion of cheese cake with ice cream, left feeling very full.

I would just love to get my hands on the décor though, although this doesn't take away from a good lunch and it must be very hard working seven days a week to carry out any redec, Its such a lovely spot and it could look so much better in side and out. Id have loved to taken the curtain valance down which isn't needed and remove the dried grass that's gathering cobwebs.

But we will be back, great find

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Nothe Tavern also viewed

 

Been to The Nothe Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nothe Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.